A Slice of Lemon Heaven

A few weeks back my best friend and I were having one of our never ending chats on the phone( she and I go waay back to early school .Im the talker and she’s the listener). She happened to mention that schooldays were the happiest time of her life so far and asked me when was I most happiest. My answer surprised her. And me.

Now.

Yes, that’s what I said . Im the happiest I’ve ever been right now. Truly enjoying myself and my life. And it’s surprising really. I’m the fattest I’ve ever been, mostly unemployed and on the wrong side of 30!

Who would’ve thought!

But the thing is my life is simpler and Im guessing thats why Im happier.

Another friend of mine..who claims to know me ‘better than I know myself’ says its just a phase. Split-personality is the term he uses to describe me. My wild side is dormant now, ready to break free and let hell loose but until then peace and happiness remains….

Hmmmm..We’ll see about that!

Actually the point of all that blah was to tell you that I have a list of things I wanna do…. ‘goals’ , if I may . And one of the items on that list was to take my art a wee bit more seriously. Working to that end, surely you’ve heard of my Mumbai exhibition, …which I so shamelessly publicized…

Mumbai was fun…Stayed with an awesome family friend ,met a whole lot of my relatives (most of whom I haven’t seen in …well..ever!) also met a few friends ..and re-lived many wonderful memories..

Met 2 wonderful and inspiring fellow-bloggers..Harini and Simran for a cuppa coffee.

And yes..sold many many paintings…..

In celebration here is a wonderful Lemon Cake…its delicious ..esp if , like me, your heart sings at the sight of all things lemony….

Lemon Yogurt CakeFor the cake:

Adapted from Oragette

1/2 cup plain yogurt

1 cup granulated sugar

3 large eggs

1 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. grated lemon zest

1/2 cup canola oil

For the glaze:

Juice from 2 lemons

1/2 jar powdered sugar

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.

In a large bowl, combine the sugar, yogurt, and eggs, stirring until well blended. Add the flour, baking powder, and zest, mixing to just combine. Add the oil and stir to incorporate. Stil until it combines to a smooth batter.Pour into a greased and lined 9-inch round cake pan

Bake for 30-35 minutes, until the cake feels springy to the touch and a toothpick or cake tester inserted into the center comes out clean. Do not overbake.Cool completely and then spoon the lemon glaze( just combine the lemon juice and the powdered sugar).

Lemon on Foodista

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. awesome and gorgeous. Visit mine when time permits

    Reply
  2. You know, that is the wonderful about getting older I think, realizing what is important, what makes us happy and not bothering with how the world perceives we should look!

    Reply
  3. That is one moist looking cake.Loved your write up!

    Reply
  4. Yes, I’m one of those people who love anything lemony. Specially cakes. And I love yogurt. I have seen this recipe around for a while now and just haven’t tried it. I’m sure I’m going to try it now, sometime this week! Thanks for inspiring

    Reply
  5. You deserved every bit of your trip and the good times too. 🙂
    And I agree, Harini and Simran are two very lovely people.

    I remember this cake and I can vouch for it. It not only looks good, it tastes wonderful.

    Reply
  6. Its a great thing to realize on ur own that you are happy:)
    On another note, the yoghurt cake is an absolute fav of mine and has made its way through to the kitchen many many times

    Reply
  7. So soft and tender!!

    Reply
  8. Am glad to know that your exhibhition went off so well. Congrats!

    I love citrus flavours in baked goodies and this lemon cake looks simply Wow!

    Reply
  9. wow congrats on the art exhibition and lovely cake Rebecca

    Reply
  10. That looks so good, very soft and spongy…

    Reply
  11. I hope you could add this lemon widget at the end of this post so we can direct readers to this recent recipe in your blog. Thanks!

    Reply
  12. the lemon glaze makes me wish I had a slice of this.

    Reply
  13. Hey Sheba.. good to read about your exhibition. Nice that you recognized you are happy now, now. 😉 Usually ppl do see these things only in hindsight, the present is always too close for any decent perspective.

    This lemon cake looks so summery. Bon apetit!

    Reply
  14. Glad your exhibit went so well and that your happy! I always hated when people told me that college was the best years of a person’s life when I was in college. The better I know myself, the happier I am in life so far 🙂

    Reply
  15. Gorgeous looking cake, looks absolutely sinful..

    Reply
  16. Light and fluffy as a cloud this seems!

    BTW, The link to Orangette doesn’t appear in the post….just fyi

    Reply
  17. Hey Sheba!! Thought you have disappeared into the art world, grt to see this post!! Being happy is what matters at the end of the day and you are lucky to have found your calling. Revel in it!!

    The cake looks seriously sinful gal, reminds me about your golden cake…!!

    Reply
  18. Oh my godness! orange color gives the cake a nice punch.

    Reply
  19. It was great meeting you as well!

    The cake looks divine

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • October 2010
    M T W T F S S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other subscribers