An Award Deserves Chocolate

Yay!! My first award!!!….Thank  you shaz for thinking me worthy of this.
The rule book says I need to pass this one to 8 other worthy blogs..it was a Herculean task to just name 8 but anyway, here goes… in random order..

Joanne of eatswellwithothers
PJ of GingerandGarlic
Happy Cook of kitchen treasures
Ann of splitpeasonality
Shwetha of cookie cutter
Sumi of sumis kitchen
Rebecca of Chowandchatter
Divya of divyascookbook

These are awesome blogs and i am so glad that I discovered them. i am sure that if u visit their blogs, u will encounter wonderful posts.

Also today I leave you with this oh-so-delicious Banana Chocolate Pudding Cake.. I tried it out from the 101 desserts book that I recently purchased and it was DELICIOUS!!

Chocolate Chip and Banana Pudding Cake
Serves 4

200 g/1 ¾ cups self-raising flour ( I substituted with AP flour ..see conversion here.)
6 tablespoons butter
2 bananas – ripe
75 g/ 1/3 cup caster sugar
60 ml/ 1/4 cup milk
1 egg – beaten
4 tbsp semisweet chocolate chips
Glossy Chocolate Sauce and whipped cream, to serve.

Prepare a steamer or partially fill (about halfway) a saucepan with water and bring to a boil. Grease a 4 cup pudding mold or four 1-cup molds. Sift the flour into a bowl and rub in the butter until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs.
Mash the bananas. Stir it into the creamed mixture with the caster sugar.
Whisk the milk with the egg in a bowl, then beat into the pudding mixture. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Spoon mixture into mold(s) and cover closely with a double thickness of foil. Steam for 2 hours, replacing water if needed.

Run a knife around the top of the pudding to loosen it, then invert onto serving dish. Serve hot with warm chocolate sauce and whipped cream.

Glossy Chocolate Sauce
This is a delicious accompaniment or topping to any dessert. And better still- it freezes well. Pour into a freezer proof container and store upto 3 months. Thaw before use.

Serves 6

½ cup caster sugar
175g chocolate pieces
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp brandy/ orange juice
Place the sugar and 4 tbsp of water in a saucepan and heat gently. Sir occasionally until sugar has dissolved.
Stir in the chocolate bit by bit until nice and melted. Similarly add the butter. Do not let boil. stir in the brandy or orange juice. Serve warm.

This dessert also goes to the following events

Cakes and Cookies @ Saras Blog…shes celebrating her 1st Blog Anniversary!

Food for 7 stages of Life – In love with DDPI @ saurashtrakitchen, an event also organized by this lovely blog.

Sanghi’s FIL_Fruits event.

and to Show me your Lunchbox event by Divya of Dil se

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. Great post mate! Where’s the subscribe button? Haha

    Reply
  2. Thanks so much for the award!! My first too!!!!

    Reply
  3. mmmmm…that looks so gooood..I am drooling already!! too good and congrats on your award.

    Reply
  4. S, hurry up and check my blog.. I have sent some nice espresso truffles your way for the wonderful award that you gave me 🙂

    Reply
  5. Congratulations on your well deserved award! The cake looks luscious!

    Reply
  6. congrats and on the award! and wow, that cake looks incredible!!!

    Reply
  7. Congrats on ur award. Thank you for your lovely entry. Pudding looks so yummy…..you have a beautiful space with yummy recipes.

    Reply
  8. Congrats !!! That looks so chocolatey 🙂

    Reply
  9. Hmmmm..Gooeey ..chocolatey pudding.Perfect for the holiday season.You deserve this award dear and thanks a lot for passing it on.

    Reply
  10. oh I remember my first award what fun, thanks for sharing it with me and wow what a fab dessert

    Rebecca

    Reply
  11. awesome,.:-)

    Reply
  12. S, thank you so much for the award! It is my first award too 🙂 so sweet, I am so honored that you thought of my blog for this award!

    Chocolate chip banana pudding cake looks divine! I can see the chocolate meting over it, yummmm! perfect for the season too!

    Reply
  13. Congratulations and thank you for the award as well. It’s really nice of you.This pudding looks so moist and tender. Love bananas and chocolate together. In a pudding? – to die for.

    We may have bought the same books…..:D

    Reply
  14. Drool!!Congrats on the award:-)

    Reply
  15. Thank you SO much for the award! I will mention it on my blog during my next post. So sweet :D.

    This cake. Speaks to my soul. Banana. Chocolate. Pudding. All of my favorite things. In one cake. And that chocolate sauce? Holy yum. You are fantastic.

    Reply
  16. Hi Congrats on your first award. Loved the pudding, I think I have seen this book. Must check it out next time.

    Reply
  17. Absolutely delicious, tempting pudding…am drooling here..congrats on ur award..

    Reply
  18. bergamot

     /  December 18, 2009

    Looks nice and congrats on your first award.

    Reply
  19. Oh .. is it .. ur first award !!
    You sure should have got it long time back !!! Congrats … and as usual beautiful looking pudding !!

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • December 2009
    M T W T F S S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other subscribers