Apfel-Streusel-Kuchen …er…what????

Inviting- Apple Streusel Cake
Simply put STREUSEL [ˈʃtrɔyzl̩] (pronounciation) can be decoded to mean granules or crumbles. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, the term streusel comes from the German verb streuen, which means “to sprinkle.”It is a crunchy topping used to cover pies, fruit crisps and coffeecakes made with a sinfully delicious mix of butter, flour and sugar . You mix these things with your hands together and they crumble into ….crumbles.
Or Streusel.
They taste heavenly even on their own….and even better on cakes and pies.
You just have to marvel at the joy that is butter flour, and sugar mixed together. Why can’t it be better for you when it tastes so amazing? Why must it give with one hand and take with another?why why why!!!!

apples
And have I already mentioned my love of apples before?well let me say it again.I LOVE apples they are sweet and healthy and delicious. Like candy..like healthy yummy yummy candy..

Well, there ya go , and now I’m going to leave you with the super delicious Apfel-Streusel-Kuchen or the Apple Streusel.I made this a couple of weeks back and its still raved about in my circles….

apple streusel cake

And let me just say this one more time: I love apples Oh, and I love cake too. So, if you’re wondering if you should make this, the answer is yes. Go make it right now.It sure is calling out to me!!!!

1/2 cup butter, plus a bit extra for greasing
450 grams tart apples
1 1/4cup all purpose flour,
little less than 2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tsp ground cinnamon
generous 1/2 cup superfine sugar
2 eggs
2 tbsp milk
icing sugar for dusting

Streusel Topping
generous 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 tbsp butter
1/2 cup superfine sugar

Preheat the oven to 180 C/350 F, then grease a 9-inch springform cake pan.

To make the streusel topping, sift the flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl and rub in the butter until the mixture resembles tiny pebbles. Stir in the sugar and set aside.

Peel, core and thinly slice the apples. To make the cake sift the flour, baking powder and salt into a bowl with the cinnamon.

Place the butter and sugar in a separate bowl and beat together until light and fluffy. Gradually beat in the eggs, adding a little of the flour mixture with the last addition of egg. Gently fold in half the remaining flour mixture, then fold in the rest with the milk.
apple preparation
Spoon the batter into the prepared pan and smooth the top. Cover with the sliced apples and sprinkle the streusel topping evenly over the top.

Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour or until browned and firm to the touch.
apple streusel cake
Let cool in the pan before opening the sides. Dust with icing sugar before serving.

Leave a comment

20 Comments

  1. qwerty

     /  July 25, 2010

    Hi!
    This cake so wonderful! I want to try to bake it so much. :)) but I have a question. In your recipe you use “cup” measure. Which volume of the cup do you use? Or may be exists equivalents in grams for products in this recipe?
    Thank you.

    Reply
  2. This looks wonderful. I really enjoy reading your posts. I will try it later. Thanks.

    Reply
  3. I’m not surprised this is being raved about. The crumb and texture looks great.

    Reply
  4. Apple Streusel looks perfect and yummy! love to have it with my evening tea…

    Reply
  5. I’m crazy for apple cakes. This looks so delicious.
    Mimi

    Reply
  6. Looks delicious!

    Reply
  7. Delightful and nice to have you back. Coming from a German heritage, this girl can tell you this is a wonderful cake…even before tasting it!

    Reply
  8. Delicious cakes.Nice clicks

    Reply
  9. Oh yum, it’s like a crumble (crisp) ran into a cake – what a happy collision that would be! Looks wonderful 🙂 Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Reply
  10. Cham

     /  November 10, 2009

    I never been so fond of apple and banana, but the two fruits play a lot in dessert form. This one is simply sinful!

    Reply
  11. oh wow this looks heavenly love German cakes well all cakes really!

    Reply
  12. That cake looks delicious! I love streusel and apples!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    Reply
  13. Awwww… so moist and yummy looking cake… this is making me drool 🙂

    Reply
  14. They look pretty, nice pictures…love apples in any form and this is a treat.:)

    Reply
  15. Gosh!That looks sinful!

    Reply
  16. This streusel is amazing! It would be good with my morning coffee or as a dessert at a dinner party. I am definitely going to try this. Thanks

    Reply
  17. Oh my goodness…. I love streusel, and your apple streusel looks incredible! Ah, the clouds of fluffy cake with the glorious creamy-crunchy streusel topping… Heaven! 🙂

    Reply
  18. Your cake sounds delicious!

    I agree with you: apples taste wonderfully on their own but they are even better when baked 🙂

    Reply
  19. Ich mag Apfel. Deine Apfel-Streusel-Kuchen schauen sehr schön!

    Ha ha, no sweat! I just said I like Apple and your cake looks beautiful!! 🙂

    Reply
  1. Apple Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe - Indian Food Recipes - Andhra Cuisine - Sailu's Kitchen

Leave a comment

  • November 2009
    M T W T F S S
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 59 other subscribers