Super Healthy Eggless Choco-Nut Banana Bread

Banana Bread, that innocuous looking cake-masquerading-as-bread breakfast choice has eluded me for a while now. But when I saw this, it took me less than five minutes to assemble the required ingredients and a very short while later I had a wonderful banana bread that my family and I absolutely loved. And here’s the bonus- Its low fat and very healthy( flax seeds, almonds..and what have you…).

Go ahead, make some now…….

Eggless Choco-Nut Banana Bread


Ingredients:
(yields one loaf in a 9 X 12 pan)

1. 2 cups whole wheat flour + 1 cup all purpose flour plus more for dusting
2. a pinch of salt
3. 2 teaspoons baking powder
4. 1/3 cup flaxseed powder
5. 1/3 cup + 1 cup milk
6. 1/4 cup oil
7. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
8. 1 cup sugar
9. 1 cup mashed banana, about 3-4 bananas depending on the size
10. 1/2 cup chopped semisweet chocolate
11. 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
12. 1 cups chopped almonds

Method

Preheat oven to 350 degree F. Lightly grease a 9 X 12 loaf pan.

First sift the flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder.

Take 1/3 cup of the milk and add the flaxseed powder to it.Keep it aside for 10 minutes.

Meanwhile in another bowl combine the oil, sugar, vanilla essence ,mashed banana, and the remaining milk.

Add the flaxseed powder-milk mix to this and stir to combine.

Add the flour mix to this wet ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon until just blended. Dont panic if its a sticky dough. Thats the way its supposed to be.Thrwo in the chocolate chips and the chopped(or powdered in my case) almonds. Fold it it.

Spoon the dough into the loaf pan and bake for about an hour to hour and a half or till the toothpick comes out clean .

Cool completely for about 15 minutes before turning the bread over. Slice only when completely cool or it will fall apart.

Next Post
Leave a comment

32 Comments

  1. Mothers

     /  December 8, 2010

    Delicious. I am thinking of adding my own little twist to it.

    Reply
  2. thanks for ur comment on hara bhara kabab.n u too hv got yummy recipes specially this one.nice.do visiting and commenting on my food blog too.n if u really liked my recipes and blog then become a follower of my blog.my blog is meghasyummyfooddelight.blogspot.com

    Reply
  3. So this is the banana bread you liked. Certainly looks good. Can also see you had a wonderful holiday. Going to the North East is something I will do before I die! :D

    And glad you liked those strawberry muffins.

    Reply
  4. Hi
    .You have a very interesting blog.
    will definitely try out this healthy version of Banana Bread .tfs :)

    Reply
  5. love that you added chocolate to the regular banana but bread and also made it healthy!

    Reply
  6. Yum..wish I could have a slice!!

    Reply
  7. WOW…. Such a moist eggless bread… looks so good. Nice recipe… YUM!

    Reply
  8. Oh that quick bread looks great!

    Reply
  9. Looks really good, delicious one.

    Reply
  10. Valarmathi

     /  July 13, 2010

    Lovely and yummy bread, looks delicious.

    Reply
  11. Bread has come out well… It looks delicious.

    Reply
  12. Ur banana bread looks very good. I love banana breads and they are always a hit at my place!

    Reply
  13. I always love finding new banana bread variations and this one looks seriously tasty! I love the chocolate infusion!

    Reply
  14. You have a lovely space . I’ll be back often

    Reply
  15. Beautiful bread, wat a fabulous combo for a bread, feel like having some rite now;.

    Reply
  16. Looks yummy!! Adore banana bread!!

    Reply
  17. love these type of breads. will surely make it but will replace sugar with sugarfree powder.

    Reply
  18. Great combo, looks healthy and delicious…

    Reply
  19. wow what an yummy n healthy bread…from last few weeks i wasplanning to make cake with wheat flour but never got the right recipe…thanks for sharing this dear

    Reply
  20. Looks good! glad you liked it.

    Reply
  21. That’s a healthy banana bread..love it…

    Reply
  22. Looks good! I love that it has flaxseed in it.

    Reply
  23. Gorgeous! I love the addition of the cocoa powder and flax seeds. It sounds marvelous!

    Reply
  24. Looks so gud and yum…

    Reply
  25. Looks really good, an all time favorite.

    Reply
  26. Hey, just switched on my computer to refer a banana bread recipe I had bookmarked and I see this in my mail box!! This looks seriously yumm!!! Hope mine turns out good too… very lil experience in baking breads…

    Reply
  27. This is so freaky…I was JUST thinking about what to do with the bananas in my fridge. I have all of this stuff so I’m going to make this. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • July 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

