The Red Book – Meaghan Delahunt


The book is basically about three strangers – an Australian photographer Francois ,Arkay a Scottish alcoholic turned Buddhist monk and a Tibetan refugee, Naga who meet in India and subsequently find their lives entwined by destiny.

Written by Australian born Meaghan Delahunt I picked up the book as I always have a fascination to see India through the eyes of an outsider. I also picked up the book for another reason. The Bhopal gas tragedy and the subsequent suffering of the victims has always saddened and angered me. So I figured this book that was supposedly set against the background of the twentieth anniversary Bhopal tragedy might prove to be an interesting read.

Francois, who is drawn to India after she sees the iconic photographs of the dead baby from the gas tragedy travels to Bhopal to travels to Bhopal to rediscover herself and take photographs that are not clichéd .There she meets and falls in doomed love with Arkay who is vainly battling addiction and memories of abuse as well as develops a close friendship with Naga, whose repressed anger caused by losing his family to the disaster stands in contrast with Arkays impulsive and moody temperament. The Red Book is a book where Francois stores photographs that tell of their time together.

What I liked about the book was the short effectiveness of Delahunt’s prose, and though not much else moved me about the book. Bhopal was just a background, a touching point for the characters. Nothing more. I was also not very impressed by the characterization. The three main characters all sounded the same to me. Like three voices of the same person. In the end while the book is mostly a tale of identity, despair, love and the west and East outlooks, it left me quite unmoved and unimpressed.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Thanks for stopping by my blog…cos now I have your blog to add to my favorites too. An avid reader myself, I will definitely stop by for some good book reviews and titles. Thanks again!

    Reply
  2. Love your blog! It’s awesome!

    You’ve picked up (another) dedicated reader.

    Reply
  3. Alex

     /  July 4, 2010

    Came here from my sisters bog, an must say Im very impressed. Great review by the way

    Reply
  4. sindy

     /  July 4, 2010

    Ive read this one…great review…and lovely blog

    Reply
  5. Nice blog! The premise of this book does sound interesting. After reading your review though, i think I’ll take your advice and pick up something else.

    Reply
  6. This Seems to be a good read, must try to get my hands on the book. Nice to be here, varied topics to read, Best wishes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • July 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

