Pasta + Spinach + Almonds = YUM!!

Its been a relatively lazy week….I’ve been reading ( The White Tiger- Finally got a hold of the book), and enjoying my guitar lessons and life has been moving slo-mo!
I even gave the weekly grocery shopping a miss and one night realized I had just a few bunches of spinach in the pantry. Luckily I’d seen this recipe here only weeks earlier and I knew just what to make. Heidi’s recipes are never-fail and this one didn’t disappoint either. Its an incredibly healthy yet delicious one meal dish…..deepened by the intense and complex nuttiness of almonds and flavored by lemon zest….


Baked Spinach Pasta

I halved the measurements…this serves 8.

extra-virgin olive oil
3/4 pound pasta
sea salt
1 large onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
4 cups well-chopped fresh spinach
1 1/2 cups lightly toasted and coarsely ground
zest of 2 lemons
8 ounces mozzerella, shredded or torn into small pieces

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Butter/oil a large casserole dish or baking pan – something roughly equivalent to 13×9-inch pan.

Boil the pasta in salted water per package instructions. Drain pasta, toss with a glug of olive oil. Set aside.

In the meantime, heat a bit of olive oil in a skillet over medium-high. Saute the onions with a couple pinches of salt for a few minutes (or if you want a bit more depth of flavor until caramelized). Stir in garlic. Stir in spinach. Cook for just about 20 seconds, until the spinach collapses a bit. Remove from heat and stir in 1 cup of the almonds and 1/2 of the zest. Add to pasta and stir and stir – mixing extremely well, a minute or so.

Now sprinkle the bottom of baking dish with the rest of the zest. Add a layer of the pasta to the bottom of the baking pan, now sprinkle with some of the cheese, add more pasta, then more cheese. Finish with a layer of cheese. Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes or until cheese on top is bubbly and melty. Serve sprinkled with the remaining almonds.

Now for some Awards I would like to thank

Rupali of RecipeRagBag for the TAG award award…I would like to pass it on to
1.subhashini of Food the spice of life
2.Malini of Rozkakhana
3.Srimati of few minute wonders
4.bittersweetbrigade
5.
Akarma Foods
6.Rajendramanju of life is beautiful
7.NS of my experiments with food

Suma from sumarowjee for the Thank You award..

This one I would like to pass on to..
1. Preety of Preetys Kitchen
2.Champa of Versatile Kitchen
3. Denu Foods
4.Vinolia of saapadu
5. Subhies Kitchen
6.anu of Mrignayani
7.soma of recipe diary
8.pavani of cooks hideout
9.pangravykadaicurry
10.kajals dreams
11.silence sings
12.Veg inspiration

The Yummy Team for this Sunshine award..I would like to pass it on to ALL my blogger friends….

and sashi of Tasty Bites gave me this Yummilicious award ..I would like to pass it on to

TREAT&TRICK
spicytasty
jay of tastyappetite
cham of spiceclub
curryandbeyond
kaugiri
easy2cook
PJ

Thanks all!!

Next Post
Leave a comment

34 Comments

  1. Chas

     /  April 27, 2010

    Great pasta.

    Reply
  2. Wow! Yummy pasta…

    Reply
  3. Hello S!!

    Brussels calling!! Congrats on your many well deserved awards! Yeah! Congrats on the recievers too! Yeah!!

    This pasta dish is so rich & tasty looking!!

    Fab food!

    Reply
  4. Dear S, Congratulations on all ur awards… I was in fact here couple days back…and my comment was not saved..or cd’nt be sent..I did not want to appear ungrateful…so it was on my list to write my feedback again..and Now I’m here.

    It is so sweet and generous of you to share an award with me..Really appreciate it..This pasta recipe ROCKS !!!.. In fact I might make this for dinner tonight as my kids just love pasta and can’t have enough of it.. I do agree pasta + almonds+spinach = one yummilious recipe..Also sometimes I too feel so lazy to go grocery shopping and instead try to cook with whatever I have on hand..

    Reply
  5. Thanks for the Award dear!!!!! Pasta is looking too good:)

    Reply
  6. Loved your YUM pasta!

    Reply
  7. Hello S,

    oh yes, that’s a hearty rich and filling dish yet very quick and no-fuss dish that I’d readily make with no limits!!!

    there are all of my favourite ingredients binded together, I love the combination spinach/mozzarella and you’ve given a royal touch with the almonds !!! I’m noting down the lemon zest for future uses, that’s an excellent idea too!!!

    this is a recipe to treasure!!!

    congratulations for all those awards and thank you so much for passing that lovely one to me!!! you see, thankfully I logged in today, hehehe!! thank you very much and enjoy your day dear !!!

    Reply
  8. Rich n creamy..congrats on your awards :-)

    Reply
  9. Congrats on ur well deserved awards! learning to play guitar, that’s so cool! this pasta recipe looks yum too.

    Reply
  10. slurrrppp…I love the pasta. Yours pasta is making me hungry now. :)

    Reply
  11. I agree…it sure looks yummy yum..

    Reply
  12. Yummy and creamy. You deserve the awards. Do visit my blog when time permits.http://shanthisthaligai.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  13. Cham

     /  April 12, 2010

    Who wouldn’t love a gooey pasta dish? Congrats on ur awards and thanks 2 sharing with us :)

    Reply
  14. wow, this looks so delicious and mmmmm…LOL…too good. congrats on all your awards dear..

    Reply
  15. wow, this looks so delicious and mmmmm…LOL…too good.

    Reply
  16. wow yummy

    Reply
  17. Pasta looks drool-worthy! Congrats on the awards!!

    Reply
  18. rozkakhana

     /  April 12, 2010

    Thanks for visiting Roz ka Khana and for the lovely award!

    Reply
  19. that recipe had caught my eye too.. glad to know it turned out delicious for you. spinmach, pasta and almonds is such a unique and yet perfect combination. Congrats on the awards and thanks for passing them on to me!

    Reply
  20. Delicious looking pasta!! Beked pasta is a favourite in my home too!!

    Reply
  21. Thank you for sharing your award with me. Baked pasta is my long due dish. Your’s looking delicious.

    Reply
  22. Pasta looks delicious. Thanks for the award. I really appreciate it.

    Reply
  23. Hello!

    WOW! your blog looks amazing and as for this recipe,it looks yummylicious!

    Thankyou for the award its much appreciated!

    im deffo going to be following this blog now!

    Amazing how many blogs im still to find! :)

    Reply
  24. Thank you so much for the award. Your post looks very delicious. It makes me want to give it a try.

    Reply
  25. Congrats on the awards and thanks for sharing one with me. Pasta with spinach & cheese looks yummy.

    Reply
  26. Congrats on ur awards….Baked spinach pasta looks fantastic and cheesy…yumm!

    Reply
  27. Congrats on your awards and It’s so sweet of you to sharing it with me.
    Awesome spinach pasta. Looks mouthwatering.

    Reply
  28. Wowww this is completely new to me…Neat presentation…looks lovely. Thanks for visiting my blog and sharing the Yummylicious award. Thanks dear!

    Reply
  29. Truly yummy combo!

    Reply
  30. Dear S, thank you very much………I am absolutely delighted :) This kind gesture of you means a lot……THANK YOU

    Reply
  31. Oh I can eat any kind of pasta any time of the day. this looks so delicious. never tried pasta with spinach sounds healthy.

    Reply
  32. Congrats on ur awards and thanks a lot for sharing the award with me….

    Baked spinach pasta is a new dish to me….looks very tempting and healthy too…my daughter’s favourite dish is pasta made in any flavour…..bookmarked ur recipe……

    Reply
  33. sometimes its good too relax for a while and let the life move slowly..:)…pasta looks good i never baked my pasta but it sounds interesting..and thanks for sharing the award with me..

    Reply
  34. It’s amazing what you came up with even after no grocery shopping!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

