Last Minute Kachori for ICC

Seriously guys, what is it about a family wedding that can throw your life so out of gear.
I went home to Kerala for just 4 days for a cousins wedding. But it was 4 days of pure frenzied madness. I can’t really pinpoint what it was that has me feeling so distraught! Was it the fact that my baby cousin actually got married ( I felt sooo OLD), or was it the awful heat of Cochin coupled with the outrageous amount of jewelry I was made to wear,
or was it the million comments I had to hear about my weight( ranging from aunts asking if I was pregnant; to cousins asking me if I had balloons hidden under my clothes. One man(may he have a thousand sleepless nights….even asked me if the Himalayas have moved to Cochin!
All my excuses of thyroid related weight gain were met with incredulous looks! Anyway I am so glad to be back home in Goa………

Kachori- Fried Indian Snack


Kachori…forgive my poori-like horrible picture (it was taken just an hour before we left) but I must tell you these fried snacks were delicious ( I know what you are thinking…NO I just had a bite..a teeny weeny bite…)My kids LOVED them and I will definitely try them with different fillings sometime later…so here’s the recipe I used…

First make the dough:
Ingredients:
All Purpose Flour/Maida – 2cups
Oil/ Ghee – 1/4cup
Salt – 1/2tsp
Water for kneading

Method:

* Mix the flour and salt, Add the oil/ghee and mix till you get a bread crumbs texture.
* Slowly add water and make a soft dough. Knead well for about 8 minutes.
* Cover and keep aside to rest for atleast half hour.

Special Tips / Notes for the dough:

* Keep the dough covered at all times, if not it will dry up and not puff up when frying. If the dough is made right wet cloth can be used if not just a towel.
* The dough could spring back for many reasons:
* Dough is too cold (If wet cloth is used)
* Dough is not soft enough.
* Not kneaded for enough time.
* Oil is less.
* Not rested enough.

For the onion filling:
Onions – 2 cups
Nigella Seeds (Kalongi) – 2tsp
Fennel seeds (saunf) – 2tsp
Bay leaves – 2
Green chillies – 1 1/2tsp finely chopped
Bengal gram flour (besan) – 2tbsp
Coriander (dhania) powder – 2tsp
Chili powder – 2tsp
Garam masala – 1tsp
Coriander leaves – 3tbsp, finely chopped
Oil – 2 tbsp
Salt – to taste

Method:

* Heat the oil in a pan. Add the nigella seeds, fennel seeds, bay leaves, green chillies and onions and sauté till the onions turn light brown in color.
* Add the gram flour, coriander powder, chilli powder, garam masala and salt and sauté for 2 to 3 minutes.
* Add the chopped coriander and mix well. Remove the bay leaves and discard. Allow the mixture to cool completely.
* Divide into 12 equal portions and keep aside.

Assembling the Kachoris:

* Make a small ball from the dough. Roll out into a 2 inch diameter circle. Or flatten the ball using your fingers having the center thick and sides little thin.
* Place about 1.5 tsp of the filling in the center of the rolled dough.
* Cover the filling with the dough by slowly stretching it over the filling. Seal the ends and remove excess dough. Repeat with all the balls and keep aside for 5 -7 mins.
* Then using your palm, flatten the balls by lightly pressing it, as using the rolling pin will make the filling come out. (See notes below). Keep aside covered. Repeat with the remaining dough.
* Meanwhile heat some oil for deep frying. The oil should not become smoking hot. Test to see if the temperature is right by dropping a tiny ball of dough and see if it is rising slowly to the top.
* Drop the kachoris in batches of 3-4 gently into the oil. It should rise up slowly. If you don’t want to use lot of oil, use just enough for two or three at a time and fry them.
* After it rises up (about 2 minutes), turn it over.
* Cook for about 6 to 10 minutes till the side down gets a golden brown color.
* Turn and cook the other side for another 6 minutes or till its golden brown in color.
* Remove when done, cool and store in airtight container.
* Serve with coriander chutney and tamarind chutney

Special Tips / Notes for making the Kachoris:

* You can fry 3 kachori’s at a time.
* The oil should be at a heat when you drop some dough it should come up slowly, if the dough comes up too fast the oil is too hot, if it does not come up then the oil is cold.
* It will not be crisp if the oil is too hot.

Leave a comment

50 Comments

  1. Looks delicious and mouthwatering. Do visit my blog when time permits.http://shanthisthaligai.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  2. Wow!!!! u r recipe looks so delicious… i love it….:-)

    Reply
  3. Yum – yours look wayyyy better than mine, I think they are supposed to look all puffy like little pooris. Mine looked doughy and heavy, like little sumo wrestlers…=)

    Reply
  4. *sob* I wish I could make gorgeous kachoris like u!!! I tried them once and flopped so badly that I’m afraid to try again!

    Reply
  5. talk abt weight gain and the rude looks and statements from fellow family members..am tired of it too..no worries abt th kachoris..if it tasted gud. then thats all that shud matter

    Reply
  6. I love kachoris.. never tried them at home…may be I will now 🙂

    Reply
  7. Kachori looks gr8 and neatly explained 🙂

    Reply
  8. People always try to find whats happening with others, they make comment simply to make u feel bad. When u go home enjoy . .dont bother abt these ppl.
    Kachori looks great Sheba ..

    Reply
  9. I can understand how rude some people can be and how hurting it is.No matter how we are people always find something to comment on .The best way is just rub it off and ignore those people..
    Your kachoris are wonderful and we too loved it..

    Reply
  10. I will admit I could not stop at one kachori, I will probably eat the whole batch! What a delight with these spices, my!

    Reply
  11. hi S, you have a lovely smile, that is all it matters, people will always comment about something or te other always, but your kachoris are awesome, they look lovely to me!!, even my family enjoyed it.

    Reply
  12. I read about this snack on another blog and will definitely make it soon as Holi is next weekend.

    Reply
  13. IT looks good..Thanks for visiting. Its my first time here on your blog.
    Nice to meet you.

    Reply
  14. Kachoris are looking so nice..Delicious..its been so many days i ate these..will try at home now 🙂
    loved d comic strip u posted..as far as comments r concerned, smtimes its best to hear frm one ear n leave frm another. 🙂

    Reply
  15. Oh I know…People would love to comment , esp if they are seeing you after a long time….The comment I get the most is about me getting thinner (don’t know when I’ll disappear into thin air…lol..) So it’s not because you are putting on….Our people are more interested in other’s lives 😀 take it easy !

    Guess you enjoyed this challenge..:-)

    Reply
  16. I’m sorry to hear that! People can be so disrespectful and nasty.

    Those treats look irresistible! Yummy!

    Cheers,

    Rosa

    Reply
  17. These look delicious, wish I could eat one right now. Desis have no no tact when commenting on weight issues, don’t fret, I’m sure you look great 🙂

    Reply
  18. Thanks for the visit…..and thus leading me to this site with all the yummee foods!!!!

    Reply
  19. kachori sounds gr8….

    Reply
  20. lovely and tasty kachoris….perfect tea time snack..

    Reply
  21. Cham

     /  February 16, 2010

    Tell even after those horrible comments, how dare could u deep fry?
    If I were at ur place, i don’t know what I would have done!

    Reply
  22. Don’t worry about comments. Any your kachori looks nice. I love them making too

    Reply
  23. simply amazing dear..good snack..

    Reply
  24. Wow lovely Kachoori…looks so tempting dear…

    Reply
  25. S, kachoris look great..thanks for joining us. Ignore such comments..but something to make you feel good, check out my diet plans on Spice your Life blog..

    Reply
  26. Oh I understand how you felt , just ignore them. Glad you tried these before you left. Thanks for participating

    Reply
  27. hi s, thanks for visiting my blog!

    what do you mean? your katchori look great! 🙂

    i come from the culture where people think it’s perfectly fine for them to comment on your appearance (I’m Croatian). I can’t say I like it at all! Mainly because it pisses me off that my mother will sooner notice when I’ve put on weight than when I’m sad.

    Reply
  28. Just perfectly done!

    Reply
  29. Folks can be so cruel sometimes with their throwaway comments!
    The katchori looks delicious although I’m not sure i’ve ever had them before (but I’ve had poori).

    As for the peanut cookeis you asked about at my blog, I left an anwer there for you. I was looking around here for an email address to maybe send you the answer but couldn’t find one 🙂

    Reply
  30. People always have to say comments about others weight,even if they weigh a 100kgs they find fault if others have put on.Best idea is to avoid them like plague..or tell them something like..yeah,I am on a diet to put on weight..:)

    Kachoris look yum..I missed this months ICC:(

    Reply
    • @divya…i know..i think i will do that next time…march is whn im going next…

      Reply
  31. hey the kachoris look so great..Wish I could have had a bite or 2..

    About the relatives just forget them..Whenever you come across such people just think as if they dont exist and say ‘disappear’.. ;)..It works..

    Reply
  32. Hehe @ someone going to have 1000 sleepless nights…

    Reply
  33. Kachoris look so delicious, s! very tempting ones. Oh, I am sorry about the relatives.. I don’t know why meeting relatives after a while is never really a very pleasant experience. People sometimes just make these comments without any considerations, just ignore them.

    Reply
  34. looks very good…loved ur post

    Reply
  35. The Kachoris look nice and fluffy. The more they look like poori, the more I like them 🙂

    People always comment without thinking, dont worry about it. Ever since I got married, every time some older aunty comes home, they tell me I look like I am expecting..I should have give birth two dozen times already by their judgements 😀

    Reply
  36. Oh S! I perfectly understand the situation of meeting family after some weight gain. my aunts now a days caal up to ask if I have managed to become thin. am also going home next month and after reading your post am gonna run another mile more on the treadmill.
    kachoris are perfect. never ever had onion kachori so will make these sometimes.

    Reply
  37. suparna

     /  February 15, 2010

    hi S,
    LOL wonderfully written post!! love the comic strip 🙂
    people..oh specifically relatives have their opinions on just about anything and its alwys far from the ‘feel good types’ just dont bother ..be happy yaar enjoy yourself 🙂
    Kachoris look yummy
    TC

    Reply
  38. yum yum, I love the pics and recipe……awwww….don’t you worry about mean like them. Next time just give it back! They won’t cross the line again, nothing else will make them shut-up!

    Reply
  39. Your katchoris look lovely and delicious.

    Reply
  40. usha

     /  February 15, 2010

    haha.. yours look like pooris and couple of my kachoris looked like sunny side up omelette.. 🙂 One even looks like button mushroom… 🙂

    Looks like the kachoris turned out great..

    Reply
  41. Smooth crusted Kachoris, very delicious.

    Reply
  42. Kachoris looks delicious!
    There are always some people who like to pass comments, dont get upset by them, they just dont have better work to do, it really annoys me when people least related to me comment about me..weirdos!

    Reply
  43. kachoris look good,
    regarding comments sometimes its best to act deaf.,it works..:-)

    Reply
  44. Hi S…well people always have something to comment. It’s up to us whether to take it or leave it.

    Anyways, kachori looking tempting! Interesting! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

