Moong Dal Halwa for ICC

I should have atleast looked online for some pics of this delicious Indian Sweet; to tell you the truth I had NO idea what this was even supposed to look like or even heard of it until Srivalli announced this months ICC recipe.

I followed the recipe using milk instead of Khoya but I guess I should have fried the dal for a lot longer as it looks drier as compared to the pics on Google…also I reduced the ghee a bit…maybe that’s why…

But still I have only this to say…IT WAS JUST MELT-IN-YOUR-MOUTH-DELICIOUS!!!!!!

Ingredients
Split (Yellow) Moong dhal – 1 cup
Ghee – 1/2 cup
Sugar – 3/4 cups to 1 cup (as per required sweetness)
Milk – 1/2 cup (Notes from Lataji – instead of water for the sugar, this gives the khoya added taste, Simran’s recipe asked for water)
Cashews/ raisins roasted in ghee for garnish.

Method to Prepare:

Soak 1 cup moong dal overnight. Next morning, grind to a paste.

Heat a heavy Kadai, take initially only 1/2 of the ghee and heat it.

Add the dhal and stir continuously, not allowing lumps to form. This part is very tricky as the dhal cooks really fast, irrespective of the ghee.

Keep the heat at the lowest and keep stirring even after the dhal becomes thick.

Add the rest of the ghee intermittently and cook the dhal until aromatic and the ghee starts oozing out.

Meanwhile mix the sugar with water/ milk in a pan and bring to a boil. Add this slowly to the cooking dhal.

Keep the fir low at all times and break lumps if formed while adding the sugar and water/ milk mix.

Cook until the ghee surfaces.

Garnish with cashews and raisins.

Notes :

* Use a thick bottom pan or better nonstick pan
* Don’t leave the halwa unattended. The dal can stick and it can go from just done to burnt in a second so keep stirring as much as possible. You should remember to keep stirring to prevent dhal from sticking irrespective of the ghee added.
* You aren’t looking for the halwa to get too thick when you turn off the heat. It was thicken as it cools.
* Cook until ghee surfaces on the sides and the halwa attains a very nice shine.
* Initially, it may appear that all the ghee is being used up. But as the dhal cooks the ghee separates. So the ghee measure is sufficient.
* In both recipes depending on how you got the moong dal paste, you may require slightly more ghee to get the texture
* Though original recipe didn’t call for roasting the dhal before soaking, Lataji felt roasting it a bit gives more fragrance.

Also a special Thank You to Lathaji and Simran’s Mom for recipe inputs.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

30 Comments

  1. Ages since I’ve had this halwa, brings back so many memories!!! This looks very tempting, Thanks πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Came here checking out all the preps participating in the event…… & WOW! I found a perfect halwa… with the perfect color & texture…… Loved the way u have captured it too… to bring out the essence of the prep….. It is very pleasing to the drooling eyes…..& tongue….. Happy Blogging!!!!

    Ash…
    (http://asha-oceanichope.blogspot.com/)

    Reply
  3. that looks so delicious thanks for this
    Have a good day here in Paris iti s cold !! Pierre

    Reply
  4. bergamot

     /  January 17, 2010

    this looks yummy…

    Reply
  5. Wonderful halwa..Guess you really enjoyed making it πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Looks mouthwatering. Has come out too good in color.

    Reply
  7. this looks so good… I am drooling over my PC right now πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. Oh Oh it looks so wonderful. I have not made moong dal halwa before but I definitely will make it soon.

    Reply
  9. Loved this months challenge..Yours looks yumm.I too followed recipe 2.

    Reply
  10. wow..this looks so good..nice and golden color..makes it look more rich..yummmy..

    Reply
  11. Beautiful, s!

    Reply
  12. Absolutely delicious!

    Reply
  13. This looks like a wonderful dessert!

    Reply
  14. your halwa looks delicious, i love making and eating them.

    Reply
  15. its yummy dear … great job

    Reply
  16. as I said in Nands blog, its raining moong dhal halwa in blogosphere today..never mind abt the looks..it tastes gud na?

    Reply
  17. Your dessert looks absolutely beautiful!!! It sounds so delicious and I’d love to try yummy sweet that melts in my mouth, YUM!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog and your lovely comment. You have such a great blog and I love the concept here, I will come back to read more of your other wonderful posts:)

    Reply
  18. Mouthwatering Halwa:) Lovely Clicks as well:)

    Reply
  19. This looks so wonderful…yummy

    Reply
  20. Wow, looks delicious and nice clicks… I totally forgot about this months ICC until I saw this post…

    Reply
  21. Preethi

     /  January 15, 2010

    what a lovely click! looks great!

    Reply
  22. Hey I too landed up making the 2nd recipe, we normally have to make it brown so I followed moms instructions. Love your clicks

    Reply
  23. lovely pic and a pain taking sweet to make…I remember my hand going red at the end of the day with all the roasting I did.

    Reply
  24. Someone told me it should be brown! I thought the khova one was brown because of that. The other one was less browner!
    Yours looks nice.

    Reply
  25. Wow ! I love this sweet and you have given wonderful step wise points …. This looks equally delicious !

    Reply
  26. Slurppp!! tempting halwa…looks fantastic..

    Reply
  27. New recipe for me. Some ingredients I don’t know as moong dhal and ghee, but I suppose I can find this in Asian shops. It looks so delicious!

    Reply
  28. that looks super delicious..

    Reply
  29. Nice picture!!! My halwa’s colour is also same as yours:) I thought, it should be more yellow but after seeing your’s, I am happy :). Awesome test.

    Reply
  30. I don’t even know what is moong dhal but the recipe looks inviting!!!! I’ve ghee from an indian shop in my town maybe I could ask them for moong dhal!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

