I Dream of Chocolate……

“The human heart is the same everywhere” I read Ohran Pamuk, the Turkish Nobel laureate declare in an interview last week.

I guess what he meant was that all of us feel the same emotions; sad feels sad the world over right?

But our tastes ah! Now that’s something! It differs from nation to nation, culture to culture and person to person. What I find sweet is often too sweet for some and not sweet at all for another.

I’ve tried so many raved about recipes only to find them disappointingly average. I’ve also hesitatingly tried some simple seemingly uninspiring dishes only to be wowed by its taste.

Anyway I have for you a treat that all you chocolate lovers(who isn’t one?). I found the recipe from the legendary Pioneer Woman’s blog.

It’s a treat you WILL love.A LOT.And its crazy-simple too.


Prep Time: 15 Minutes Cook Time: 20 Minutes Difficulty: Easy Servings: 12
Ingredients

* 1 cup Brown Sugar
* 1 cup Margarine
* 1 whole Egg
* 2 cups Flour
* ½ teaspoons Salt
* 1 teaspoon Vanilla
* 6 ounces, weight ( To 8 Ounces) Chocolate Chips

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix together brown sugar and margarine. Add egg and mix together. Add flour, salt, and vanilla, and mix together well.
Spread dough onto cookie sheet to a thickness of 1/4 to 1/2-inch.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until slightly brown. At this point, pull out of the oven and sprinkle chocolate chips evenly over the top. Return to oven for 1 minute. Remove and spread melted chips over the top. Cut into squares.

This awesome recipe goes to FFPW Breakfast/Brunch theme round-up.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

19 Comments

  1. This recipe caught my eye too! You can never beat anything that is simple and delicious (or covered in chocolate). Sounds like a good breakfast to me.

    Reply
  2. Awwwwesome that is!

    Reply
  3. I love Orhan Pamuk. You definitely just won me over with that quote. And then again with these beautiful cookie bars!

    Reply
  4. bergamot

     /  December 12, 2009

    This looks nice and so easy to make…gonna bookmark this

    Reply
  5. that looks great…. a treat for chocolate lovers.

    Reply
  6. Very beautiful chocolate. Can’t wait to try this 😀

    Reply
  7. Tempting choco bars. Sounds easy to put together too.

    Reply
  8. If I could, I would change my middle name to chocolate!

    Looks awesome. Amen to PW – always a fan!

    Reply
  9. this looks so yummy!

    Reply
  10. Give me chocolate anytime! this is so disgustingly decadent!

    Reply
  11. LOL, I was wondering the same thing! How does this fall into breakfast brunch?

    Reply
  12. Sheba, I’m getting worried here, our likes are getting eerily too similar. Are we twin sisters separated at birth by evil Amjad Khan? I’ll believe it if you let me have Shashi Kapoor, you can have Amitabh (they’re coming to rescue us, remember??)
    I LOVE Pioneer Woman too! And chocolate….!

    Reply
    • if we do have a choice..i would settle for someone younger….you can have AB:)

      Reply
  13. I love chocolates! This one is awesome and marvelous! Slurp!

    Reply
  14. Yummy…the pics have me drooling! Im headed to my kitchen to try this out! 😀
    Btw, just curious – how can this count as brunch/breakfast?

    Reply
    • Ha! But you know what i can have chocolate ANYTIME!! so i guess it does qualify as breakfast/brunch for me!

      Reply
  15. The sentence caught my attention too when he mentioned it in response to a question about his book. Pamuk’s interview was on our local radio station.

    These bars look so very tempting.

    Reply
  16. Quick to make, yummy cookies.

    Reply
  17. Superb and marvellous.

    I think of having it right now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • December 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

