All Powder, No Gun

Gunpowder-(n) mixture of potassium nitrate, charcoal, and sulfur in a 75:15:10 ratio which is used in gunnery, time fuses, and fireworks

Oh! don’t worry I’m not into making bombs now….
what i have today is of the South Indian kind and is almost as potent as its namesake. But fret not,it is easily enjoyed even by the spice -intolerant and you can play around with the quantity of the spice as well as other ingredients.

This accompaniment is a favorite at home. Although it’s a bit spicy, my son loves to have it with crisp dosas and it makes for such a quick breakfast too!

Also called idli podi, paruppu podi, dhal powder or ‘gun powder’, this crunchy spice mixture should be stored in an airtight jar. When required, a spoonful or two may be mixed with melted ghee/oil and used like a chutney.

Ingredients

1 cup Channa Dal
1 cup Urad Dal
1/2 tsp jeera
1/2 tsp pepper powder
1/4 cup rice
2 tbsp sesame seeds
1 tsp hing/asafoetida
Red chillies, whole, as per taste
and salt, of course…

Roast all these ingredients one by one..and powder. Mix well and store in an air tight container.

,

Leave a comment

28 Comments

  1. The Latest Trading Software for Sale:
    *a lot of trading systems & indicators for TradeStation, Metastock,
    Ninja Trader, eSignal, MultiCharts and Metatrader
    *LESS THAN 10% OF THE RETAIL PRICES!
    *all programs with unlimited passwords
    *all programs and systems are tested and 100% working
    *the latest versions of software and regular updates
    *manuals, books, trading courses etc.

    Our Blogs at:
    http://www.wininvest.phpzilla.net
    http://invest2win.abcz8.com

    Our Online store at:
    http://www.traderdvds.co.cc

    or contact us:
    yourtrader2008atgmaildotcom
    yourtrader2006atyahoodotcom
    yourtrader3000atgmaildotcom

    Reply
  2. I’ve been looking around forkbootsandapalette.wordpress.com and actually am impressed by the amazing content material here. I work the nightshift at my job and it really gets boring. I’ve been coming here for the previous couple nights and reading. I just wanted to let you know that I’ve been enjoying what I’ve seen and I look ahead to reading more.

    Reply
  3. my friend used to bring this podi to school with idlis.. will try to recreate tht taste!

    thanks for dropping by my blog.. yours is a lovely space full of great recipes

    Reply
  4. Nothing can beat gun powder with idlis or dosas! It has its very own special place in my pantry πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Sounds great! I have been making dosas lately so I will try this with them. Thanks!

    Reply
  6. This I cannot do without. Give me a tiny little satchel of this with idlis to carry whenever I’m on a plane ride.:)

    Reply
  7. Vow Sheba, loved your blog. I am a fan of your writings.

    Reply
  8. We call this Molaga Podi ! πŸ™‚ And its the world’s yummiest powder ever! And, the Rasgulla was drool worthy πŸ˜€

    Reply
  9. Lovely recipe,s!My Mil and mom add Toor dal too..And oh, I like the post title..:))

    Reply
  10. Wonderful blog that I’ve bookmarked for more excavation πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. You must share these tips then

    Reply
  12. You have a wonderful space here, I am sure glad I stopped by! This podi looks delicious. One of my college friends used to bring a similar podi to our hostel mess every-day and our sustenance for most part was on her mom’s podi and the hostel rice with a bit of oil… oh, the good old days! I will surely be making this podi soon!

    Reply
  13. I just roasted dal for some gun powder. I don’t add cumin and pepper but for the winter probably a great idea. I am going to roast some and add before I blend them.

    Thanks for visiting and I am really glad I found yours.

    Reply
    • Kalyan…i just follow tips that i find online..and its no fancy shmancy camera..just a regular Pns..but thanks so much…

      Reply
    • my mom actually uses 12 items..will try make it using her method once..it has curry leaves and a lot of other things..

      Reply
  14. Truly commendable then S πŸ™‚ The lighting is great. Is it a very complex camera then? Nice framing too

    Reply
  15. where is quick gun murugan?:)) gun powder is a must in my house, sambhar optional!!

    Reply
  16. Hi, This is my first time here and I must say that I am floored by the quality of your food photos. Are you a professional photographer?

    Gun powder brought back memories of my first trip to the South, Bangalore. We had gone to a Tamillian restaurant. My colleague told me about gun powder

    Reply
    • oh i really flattered… im no professional photographer..but i really enjoy it

      Reply
  17. Hey, I love your podi recipe. This is a kitchen bomb. hehe. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  18. Dear S, Your gun powder is doing dishum….dishum… πŸ˜€ I like your podi recipe. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  19. I love idlis…and I have never tried gun powder..but looks like I missed out!

    Reply
  20. Lovely ckicks .I love milagai podi with idlys.

    Reply
  21. Oh! I love gunpowder with idlis. Lovely pics

    Reply
  22. hey, …like your style of writing..we were to move to goa, about 2 years back, but things didnt work out, but i have a long time connection with goa..great to know u are from there…your tanjore paintings are beautiful…will go back and read your other posts…

    Reply
  23. i have bookmarked your blog for further reading.

    Reply
  24. Very useful podi for idli…nice recipe….and nice pics too s…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • December 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

