Apple Cheesecake

Apple CheeseCake
Many months back, when I lived life as a non-blogger one of the blogs I used to visit frequently was saffron trail. It had and still has some awesome recipes and the first one I tried out back then, was a cheesecake.

Now, my love affair with the cheese cake goes back a long way. We first met at a hotel called Pandal in Cochin. It was just a few blocks from my house and its where I’ve had quite a few meetings with friends (some clandestine, some not).and their cheesecake was a constant feature in our menu. Needless to say we were very upset when they closed shop to give way to what Cochin already has in plenty-another jewelry shop.

But thankfully, all was not lost. The fanta-fabulous Cake Shop (the bakery section of the hotel) soon came up in Panampilly Nagar , just next door to a dear friend’s home. Since we were both ardent fans of the Pandal Cheesecake, every time we visited each other that’s what we gifted each other( and we met almost everyday).

After my marriage too, I managed to get my husband to promise me that he would NEVER pass by Panampilly Nagar without buying me a cheesecake. What happened next is anybody’s guess-He found a new road bypassing that area…MEN!! Sigh!

Nevertheless cheesecake is one dessert I never say no to and I have a waistline to prove it!
apples
And when I saw the Apple Cheesecake post on saffron trail I just had to try it…the fact that it was almost sugarless sealed the fate of the apples lying at home.

Ingredients
200 grams Digestive Marie
1 tbsp melted butter or ghee
3 apples – peeled, and sliced
Cottage cheese/paneer from 1 ltr milk
4 tbsp honey
1 tsp cinnamon powder

Directions

Preheat oven at 200 C.
applecheesecake
Crush the biscuits coarsely in food processor along with the melted butter and the honey. Line this on the bottom and sides of a pie dish, pressing firmly. I like a thick biscuit layer so i piled it on. But thats not the norm:)

Place this in preheated oven for 10 minutes. Take off oven and keep aside.
Puree the

Next, puree the sliced apples and when it’s almost done, add the paneer, cinnamon and honey to get a smooth puree of apple and paneer.

Spoon over the now cooled biscuit base and bake for 45 min at 180 C or until it seems nearly firm.

Serve with ice cream.
apple cheesecake

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Hey…I posted my cheesecake today with a link to yours. I brought it to work and it was a HIT! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Well….another masterpiece ….I just made this for supper for my hubby and I…..it is so beautiful and yummy. I will be posting with a link to you real soon.

    Reply
  3. Sav

     /  September 25, 2009

    babe i love your blog! and i’m surely stopping at the cake shop today for cheese cake. yeah, our evening walks are through panampilly nagar 😉

    Reply
  4. This looks yummm for sure! I am hungry now.

    Reply
  5. This looks delicious!

    Reply
  6. Delicious cake!!!!Loved it!!!

    Reply
  7. Cake is so Tempting, looks yummy !!

    Reply
  8. Thanks for the mention S and trying it out – glad you liked it! It’s so simple and the few ingredients make it a personal fav too.

    Reply
  9. me not too great at baking, but ur photos and recipes makes me wanna try!!!

    Reply
  10. Oh my goodness….this is going to be a yummy cake I will make this weekend. Perfect…I have all the ingredients and what a great idea for a combo…to tell you the truth…I have never had apples in a cheese cake but we all know apple pie and a slice of cheese is delish so why not?!!!

    Reply
  11. Cheese cake looks Royal !
    Had visited Cochin just couple of months back bought loads of spices, banana chips – ate the typical poratha with chicken curry, but dint know about cakes being specialty will remember next time I visit 🙂

    Reply
  12. Oh..your post made me so nostalgic..:).I was one among those who mourned for Pandal when they closed too..such fabulous pastries they stocked..there are only few stuff which I am not fond of when it comes to sweets,cheesecake is one of them.Somehow,I’ve never felt like taking a second bite when it comes to a cheesecake..at least,fewer cheesecake calories..lol:)

    Lovely pictures and they do look quite tempting:).

    Reply
  13. What can I say?Too good and delicious!

    Reply
  14. Wow Cheesecake looks simply superb and delicious..

    Reply
  15. Pandal!!! What a cute little restaurant it was and you brought back a flood of memories of hastily put together jaunts to EKM. I didn’t realize it was gone – is that where the new Bhima is now? I guess I missed out on their desserts, we always went for the thali when in town…

    Reply
  16. cake is looking so nice

    Reply
  17. I love it too. That’s a nice cheese cake dear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

