Paneer Burji

“How do you manage to remain so waif-like?” I once asked a friend. I mean, she was stunning, and slim and a mother of one. “You Mallus eat way too much rice”, she said… “I hardly ever eat rice”. I opened my mouth to disagree, but couldn’t say anything, and no, not because my mouth was stuffed with food, but because I had nothing to say. I just had to agree with her.

Come to think of it, most of our meals are rice based; Idlis, Dosas, Appam, Puttu..the list is ENORMOUS. And the quantity of rice we consume for lunch can almost feed a small nation.

At my parents place the only non-rice meal we have is at dinner. “What shall I make with the chapattis?” is a common refrain as my mom always runs short of side-dish ideas for chapattis. Its almost always dal or paneer,so a Paneer Burji is what I’m posting today esp for the Side Dish Event , hosted by Viki’s Kitchen…and I’m excitedly waiting for the round-up so I can expand my repertoire of side-dishes.

side dish-paneer burji
This is similar to scrambled eggs and tastes just as good.
Paneer – 1 cup crumbled
Onions – ½ cup chopped finely
Tomatoes – ½ cup chopped
Ginger – 1” piece chopped
Green chili – 1, chopped
Cumin seeds 1 tsp
Turmeric powder – one pinch
Chili powder – ½ tsp
Oil and salt

Preparation:

• .
• Heat oil in a deep bottomed pan; add the cumin seeds, chopped onions and the ginger garlic paste fry till brown.
• Add the chillies and tomatoes and fry till they are soft and pulpy.
• Add turmeric powder, chilli powder, salt and little water so that all the masalas are well combined.
• Add crumbled paneer and fry for 5 minutes till the paneer blends into the masala.
• Garnish with chopped coriander and serve hot.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Hi first time to your blog… everything looks fantastic and really yummy mouthwatering recipes… will be regular here.. keep going.

    Reply
  2. ooo loooks good. One question…what is paneer? is it tofu?

    Rose

    Reply
  3. preetipathanjali

     /  September 7, 2009

    looks so delectable! yummm

    Reply
  4. Paneer bhurji is my total absolute all time favorite.Of course, I never blogged about it because it’s impossible to get a good picture out of it…or as I now know, it’s possible but just something I can’t do 🙂

    Reply
  5. I never added tomato…will try this method…looks yummy

    Reply
  6. Hey dear.. really delicious paneer burji. looks nice !:)

    Reply
  7. YUm Yum!!!such a droolworthy paneer bhurji..

    Reply
  8. LOL….I am also a great rice eater dear. Whenever I see thin girls taking of roti / chapathi , I envy them:)
    “cos my knowledge on side dish is very limited. So only I started an event for getting ideas.
    Paneer Burji looks so rich and delicious.
    Thanks for sending this Paneer Burji to the ‘side dish for chapathi’ event.
    cheers,
    Viki.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 58 other followers

