Chocolate Brownies

There is something rotten in the state of Goa. And guess what, it’s the weather. Its scorching hot one minute and poring buckets the next. I’ve never experienced climate this unpredictable. There is a Malayalam saying about Kochites-the people in my hometown. It basically translates to mean that the people of Kochites are as unpredictable as its weather. But, here in Goa what we are experiencing is beyond unpredictable. It’s bordering on strange.

Problems abound because of this. Everyone seems to be having flu-like symptoms (well, its not swine-flu..i think), clothes dry, and get wet again and get wet again then dy and finally just remains soaking in my terrace the entire day..ok ok that just happens in my house…but you get the point, right?

And my evening walks..oohh my walks… the only thing I that I do just for myself..they have come to an end. Oh I miss my walks.

But as the saying goes, make hay while the sun shines, or as in my case, when the rains pour. So a friend and I decided to spend the evening gazing at the rain and enjoy some yummy chocolate brownies…and guess what, we decided to make them with whole wheat flour. Boy oh boy! They were absolutely melt-in-your mouth brownies. I got the recipe from here, the King Arthur site, but I reduced the sugar a bit. Also it’s suggested that the brownies be stored for a day before consumption as it makes them so much more delicious. But trust me..that’s like asking me to go through labour pains again!! NOT HAPPENING!!
Whole Wheat Flour Chocolate Brownies
Wholewheat brownies

2 cup chocolate ,cut into pieces
1 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 1/2 cups light brown sugar, firmly packed
3/4 cup cocoa
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon espresso powder
1 tablespoon vanilla essence
4 large eggs
1 1/2 cups Whole Wheat Flour

Preheat the oven to 350°F.Grease and keep ready a 9″ x 13″ pan.
Making Brownies
Melt the butter over low heat and add the sugar.Stir until hot, then take off heat. Stir continuously until combined. Now put it back on the heat and mix well again. This is done to lend a glistening coat to the top of the brownies.

Remove from heat and add cocoa, salt, baking powder , coffee powder and the essence. Add in the eggs and beat to make smooth. Using a wooden spoon to stir, mix in the flour and the chocolate chips. Mix until smooth.Spoon into prepared pan and bake for 30 minutes. However do not over bake. When you insert a knife into the center, you should get raw crumbs, not raw batter. They should feel set insides and middle.

Cool and attack!!

This recipe goes to the CFK-chocolate Event hosted by the wonderful Hema.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. One word-Yummy!!

    Its been ages since I made Chocolate Brownies.Hubby feels brownies should be had with Ice-cream which means the calorie graph would double up.So I haven’t baked a brownie in a long time,I have to buck up now!!I’ll use the whole-wheat flour excuse:)

    Reply
  2. This is one of my favourite choco yummies..! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  3. Brownies look so tempting and delicious… nice entry for the event

    Reply
  4. Wowwow, such a delicious brownies..

    Reply
  5. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for ur lovely comments Sheba. U to have a great blog dear and your recipes are real yumm! Will be frequently visiting yours, keep in touch:)

    Reply
  6. Nothing beats chocolate on a rainy day! Hope the weather clears up….This King Arthur site seems to be getting a lot of blogger hits – need to check it out……

    Reply
  7. Nice entry for the Event Sheeba.. Thanks a ton.. These sure are delicious and healthy brownies

    Reply
  8. Hi S,

    The brownies looks so tempting…using whole wheat is very healty….nice idea.
    I know blue berry may not find in India, but u can make coconut syrup , orange sauce or just honey and butter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

