The Scream

1893_Edvard Munch The ScreamI often wonder if Munch painted ‘The Scream’ after witnessing the plight of a mother. I’m pretty sure that’s what inspired him. The last week was crazy, to say the least. Birthdays, dinners, kids rebelling; at one point I though I was doing all this for a reality show! I mean, it just had to be that. I dropped my son off at his squash class came home, had some essential grocery shopping to do which was basically a grab-and-run foray into the market. Got back, went to pick and drop off my son at his taekwando class. I then had to take my by-now-wailing miserably younger son to the park and then finally pick up my older son. Just when I thought the ordeal was at its end my car broke down. CAN YOU IMAGINE!!!i walked back in a daze, waiting for the director to say CUT any moment now. The traumatic cumulative day rendered me too sweaty and exhausted and emotionally fragile to properly make enjoy the dinner I had prepared but the unanimous verdict was that it was GREAT! Anyway here’s how I made the simple but appetizing Pasta with tomato sauce.
Make and Go - Pasta
Pasta (any kind) 2 big cups
Tomatoes- 5 grind coarsely
Big onions- 2 chopped finely
Garlic- 4 cloves, crushed
Sugar 1 tsp
Spices and herbs- basil, oregano and chilli flakes
Any seasoning mix, I used taco seasoning mix.
Grated cheese- ¼ cup
Butter 2 tbsp, softened

Cook the pasta in enough water as per packing instructions. Drain and keep aside. In a saucepan, heat the butter and sauté the onions and garlic. Add the sugar and fry a bit longer until it browns a bit. Now add the ground tomatoes, the spices and the seasoning mix. Fry it well and add most of the grated cheese. Mix once more and then add the pasta. Stir well to coat the pasta and garnish with tomato sauce or cheese spread. Add remaining grated cheese and bake at 180 C for 8 minutes or until cheese melts.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Nice post and a nice recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • August 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 60 other followers

