Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies

Did you wonder if I’d fallen off the face of this planet.

Hell NO!

I’m still getting used to life in Kochi……parents, in-laws….need I say more!

But whats really been keeping me occupied has been an errrr…’assignment’ that I’ve taken on. My latest avatar is as an e-tutor-basically I have to be up at the crack of dawn ungodly hours to teach kids why ‘She and I have to go to the park’ and not ‘She and me’….yup English…and Grammar at that!

It’s hard work. I left my brain behind in the maternity ward 7 years ago and getting it to kick-start is not easy.

And waking up that early is a HUGE effort too. Over the last few years the bed and I have cemented our love for each other. Even if my house were to explode I’d still have to consider if it’s really worth getting out of bed.

So then my dad asked me ‘Are you really enjoying yourself?’

WHAT????????? I have enough trouble living the moment..now I have to enjoy it too????????

Here’s a whole wheat cookie I tried the other day. We are suckers for cookies and these were GOOd..even if I say so myself:)

Whole Wheat Oats Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe Source- Deeba(passionate about baking)

1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup granular sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup + 2 tbsp whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups oats, powdered (cuz thats the only way my kids will eat ‘em)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp baking powder
pinch of salt
3/4 cup dark chocolate chips
1/2 cup walnuts, finely chopped

Method:

In a bowl, stir together the dry ingredients – flour, oats, baking soda, baking powder, salt, chocolate chips, walnuts.

In another big bowl, cream the butter and sugar till fluffy. Next beat in the egg and vanilla extract.

Fold the dry ingredients into the wet. Drop a tablespoon of dough into a lines cookie sheet and gently flatten.

Bake at 180C for 18 minutes, until golden brown.

Remove from oven, leave to cool on trays for 1 minute, then remove to cooling racks and allow to cool completely. Store in an airtight box.

This recipe goes to the ongoing Oats Recipe Event here.

Leave a comment

22 Comments

  1. sandhya

     /  March 25, 2011

    Hey Sheeba,
    Your site is so interesting that I get glued to my laptop every time I open it. I am a huge fan of your style of writing and of course your cooking. By seeing your way of writing I feel you are very warm person and a source of positive energy (how i wish i had that attitude). Your husband is the most luckiest man in this world to get a wife like you. God bless and keep up your good work and continue to give us “gyan” on food and books. Love u! I hope kochi is treating you well..Enjoy!

    Reply
  2. Cookies look delicious and healthy as well

    Reply
  3. Wow the cookies looks amazing..lovely shots

    Reply
  4. Nice new look for the blog :)

    Loved the pictures…cookies look simply yumm!!

    Reply
  5. i love cookies, just that i cant stop with just one or two :o

    Reply
  6. A very ‘from the heart sort of a write up’ :)..I am always a fan of such illustration before any recipe! Simple and healthy cookies! :)

    Reply
  7. They look delicious! I remember teaching English and trying hard to explain all of the exceptions to the rules (and there are so many!)

    Reply
  8. cookies look delicious, love that they are wholewheat so i can treat myself without guilt i hope:)

    Reply
  9. I’ve never tried to bake a whole wheat choc. cookie… and I also like that you used some oats…great recipe!

    Reply
  10. Thank you for this: WHAT????????? I have enough trouble living the moment..now I have to enjoy it too????????

    This is exactly something I am likely to feel and say. Visited your blog recently and caught up with your move to Kochi and life thereafter.

    Reply
  11. Haven’t been here in ages; really like your header and new look. Can see Cochin hasn’t killed your sense of humour! ;-)
    Deeba’s cookies look delicious. Bakes are one way I can get A to eat oats too.

    Reply
  12. I hear you on the difficult mornings. I don’t know if I could explain grammar in the morning. It might come out “BECAUSE, grumble, grumble, grumble.” At least you have these cookies to help ;-)

    Reply
  13. Those cookies look super yummy… Can i have one please….

    Reply
  14. Sheba, i’m here after a long time or first time! ur header pic is wow! and those cookies i just love anything with choc…wouldn’t mind to chew it right way! ur first pic is very special!

    Reply
  15. your mum shd read this…no wonder she says you’re lazy…made lamintons/lamingtons. final stage to be finished and i’m exhausted…for thomas’s buddies…chk out judyscakesandtreats.wordpress.com. an amazing trio…do patronize them…nice and cool ladies.

    Reply
  16. What a delicious and healthy looking recipe. Your cookies look like they turned out great. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/03/sweets-for-saturday-9.html

    Reply
  17. great to see you back. I totally understand your situation as am going through the same. just shifted to Kolkata and adjusting to own city is difficult after some time. the cookies look great…

    Reply
  18. Scrumptious cookies, looks healthy and yummy..

    Reply
  19. Glad to see u back, baking and posting it too!!. I know all too well about the brain going to ‘sleep and muddled’ mode with my 2 kids running around!

    Cookies look awesome! I have bookmarked these too!

    Reply
    • s

       /  March 19, 2011

      Thanks suma…its does feel good to be blogging again…
      thanks for your comments Priya
      @sayantani best of luck with your move…now I know how difficult a move can be.

      Reply
  20. “Over the last few years the bed and I have cemented our love for each other”–me too–hehe!!

    Love the simple cookies made with whole wheat!!

    Reply
    • s

       /  March 19, 2011

      Divya- he he!! hope to see u in kochi next time u are here..Im sure we have more than our love for sleeping in common:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

