Brown Bread Ice Cream

My taste in television boders on juvenile.No, thats not fair. But in any case its not intelligent viewing. I mean, common, I barely ever watch Nat Geo or Discovery and I stay away from stuff most of my friends watch(read Bigg Boss etc)
However time and oppurtunity permitting I can watch FRIENDS re-runs all day long-if I had the time. GLEE is another series I Love Love Love…though its been taken off the air here in India. My son and I often sing along, though its hardely appropriate TV viewing for a 3 year old!

Of late I’ve been watching Lie to me( something about Tim Roth’s South London accent does it for me…) and my current fav Modern Family. Have you watched it..It’s HILARIOUS!

But really the thing is that I barely get time to watch the telly as long as I would really like to. What with all the cleaning, dusting, teaching the kids all day

OK who am I kidding right? the truth is..I spend all day day-dreaming and reading and yes baking and somehow fear (rightfully so)that once I do switch on the telly my kids will come to watch like moths to a flame , and then getting them to stop watching will obviously be almost impossible.


What I have here is a Brown bread Ice cream…the thing is I added more brown bread than the recipe called for and thats why its more puddingy looking than ice cream . But boy! It was MINDBLOWING delicious…
The recipe below is from here.

Brown Bread Ice Cream
Source Epicurious

1 cup brown bread crumbs (dont use more and make the mistake I did)
8 tbsp sugar
3 tbsp brown sugar
2/3 cup whole milk
1 3-inch piece vanilla bean, split lengthwise
2 large egg yolks
1 1/3 cups chilled whipping cream

Preheat oven to 375°F / 190°C. Line baking sheet with foil; butter foil. Mix breadcrumbs, 3 tbsp sugar and all the brown sugar in a medium bowl. Scatter over prepared baking sheet. Bake until sugar begins to melt and crumbs are slightly darker, stirring crumbs occasionally with metal spatula to prevent sticking, about 10 minutes. Transfer breadcrumbs to a bowl and cool. Break crumbs into small pieces.

Place milk in medium saucepan. Scrape in seeds from vanilla bean; add bean. Bring to simmer. Remove from heat and let steep 30 minutes.

Whisk egg yolks and 5 tbsp sugar in a large bowl to blend. Gradually whisk in milk mixture. Return mixture to same saucepan. Stir over low heat until custard thickens and leaves path on back of spoon when finger is drawn across, about 5 minutes (do not boil). Strain into small bowl. Chill custard until cold, stirring occasionally, 1 hour.

Beat whipping cream in large bowl until firm peaks form. Fold custard into cream. Gently fold into breadcrumbs. Transfer to covered containers and freeze. Can be prepared 3 days ahead. Keep frozen.

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. This is awesome..would it taste like frozen bread pudding..thanks for sharing

    Reply
  2. Perfect recipe for the holidays here. Do you get any Jamie Oliver shows there? He has simple recipes like you do.

    Reply
  3. Wow.. that is absolutely innovative and lovely. looks so scrumptious too :)

    You have a lovely blog on the whole. keep it going.

    Reply
  4. That is so irresistible!!! :D

    Reply
  5. wow…ice cream looks awesome…very innovative recipe

    Reply
  6. looks quite yummy… this is very new to me.. wow!

    Reply
  7. Mmmmm icecream! Just what I need right now! :)

    Reply
  8. That’s really interesting! Never thought we can make ice cream from bread crumb, simply superb…

    Reply
  9. Icecream with bread crumbs, now thats very innovative….am sure it tasted great as well

    Reply
  10. Hy,
    Thanks for dropping by n your precious time..
    This recipe really sounds wonderful…great try …:D
    Tasty appetite

    Reply
  11. I so want it..

    Reply
  12. where did you get vanilla bean from? and tell me who had the bulk of ice cream tell me tell me ;)

    Reply
  13. U sure got my attention Sheba! An ice cream without repeated semi-freezing and whipping, not just sounds easy and yumm but ‘zara-hatke’ as well:-))

    Reply
  14. wow i feel like eating this,..even i have to wait for my kid to sleep to watch star world,..even i luv glee :-)

    Reply
  15. I love to see all the cookery shows on TLC…modern family is my fav too…never heard of bread ice cream but this looks delicious. till now my ice cream experience is limited to fro yo…yet to try this real thing.
    Between if you are aware we have restarted the famous Arusuvai Friendship chain where bloggers send mystery ingredient to each other to cook and taste new dishes. if you are interested in taking part please check this

    http://ahomemakersdiary.blogspot.com/2010/11/arusuvai-friendship-chain-another.html

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • December 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

