DB April 2010- Not so Traditonal , Traditional English Pudding

The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet

yeah..that was the problem, right there.The last word.

Suet. In case you’re wondering, suet is the hard but flaky fat found on the inside of a cow or sheep around the kidneys and that area of the body.

Ewwww I KNOW…not my kinda thing either..

But thankfully Esther allowed for substitution and so I did what I love to do best….no not whining..but using butter.Arent the best things in life made of butter????

Steamed desserts are not new to us in India. Especially for us South Indians. We make a variety of steamed goodies – kozhukutta(rice ball dumplings), vatayappam being just two of many many.

But a steamed pudding was something I’d never tried.


Don’t let the ugly pictures fool you..I mean I know
I know it’s not easy on the eyes–heck, it would be a great contestant in a ugly photo contest but it was real good…and so we couldn’t have cared less.

Sticky toffee and date pudding with candied ginger
Shamelessly copied from here

For the toffee sauce

2 cups (500ml) heavy cream
1/2 cup (120g) demerara sugar (or another dark brown sugar)
2 1/2 tablespoons honey
pinch of salt

For the pudding

6 ounces (180g) pitted dates, snipped or chopped
1 cup (250ml) water
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/3 cup (40g) candied ginger, chopped
1 1/4 cups (175g) flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 tablespoons (55g) unsalted butter
3/4 cup (150g) granulated sugar
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1.Butter an 8 1/2-inch (about 24cm) porcelain soufflé mold, or similar-sized baking dish.

2. To make the toffee sauce by bringing the cream, demerara sugar, honey and salt to a boil in a medium saucepan, stirring often to melt the sugar.

3. Lower heat and simmer, stirring constantly for about 5 minutes, until the mixture is thick and coats the spoon. Pour half the sauce into the prepared soufflé mold and place the mold in the freezer, and reserve the other half for serving.

4. To make the pudding, in a medium saucepan, heat the dates and water. Once the water begins to boil, remove from heat and stir in the baking soda. Add the ginger, if using, then set aside, but keep it slightly warm.

5. In a small bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt.

6. In the bowl of a standing electric mixer, or by hand, beat the butter and granulated sugar until light and fluffy. Gradually beat in the eggs, then the vanilla.

7. Stir in half of the flour mixture, then the date mixture, then add the remaining flour mixture . The mixture will be a bit liquidy. Add some hot water if required.

8.Pour mixture on to the sauce, cover and steam for 1.5 hours.
The sauce and sponge mixture mix together during cooking.

9. Let cool slightly before serving.

Next Post
Leave a comment

37 Comments

  1. WOW that pudding looks so delicious it is so moist and shiny superb job on this challenge. English pudding aren’t pretty but taste awesome (and using butter makes it tastes even better). Excellent photos.

    Cheers from Audax in Sydney Australia.

    Reply
  2. I didn’t think the descriptions of suet sounded particularly nice either… I think I saw a recipe like this, glad you tried it, it sounded very tasty.

    Reply
  3. Sheeba, I went for a butter based version as well. The toffee/date/ginger combination is like music to my hears! Well done! :)

    Reply
  4. Hey Sheba…New to your blog, and I am loving every inch of it (yes, pudding included!)

    Loved your writing style too….

    Stay connected!

    P.S. – I am so glad you did not find suet :) LOL!

    Reply
  5. Sticky toffee, dates, and ginger sound like they would go great together! Nice job on your challenge!

    Reply
  6. I bet they must have tasted good !! Yummy Pudding I should say.

    Reply
  7. Mmmmm…. ginger and dates, what a lovely combination. I’ll have to try that next time I make a pudding. Way to go on this month’s challenge, keep up the great bakes!

    Reply
  8. You have no idea how much I love sticky toffee pudding:) It looks just fabulous! I wish I could taste it!

    Reply
  9. In Malaysia we steam a lot. Steamed cakes and puddings are my favourites. I don’t do a lot of steaming here cos gas is very expensive. I love sticky toffee pudding…the first and best dessert I was introduced to when I first came to Scotland. Yours look very delicious…mmm

    Reply
  10. Looks yummy. It has a look close to that of cakes. Steamed cake! Must be great at taste too…

    Reply
  11. Sticky toffee and ginger – yum!!!

    Reply
  12. Rich and yummy, I could tell from the look of your pudding! I mean who could resist dates, candied ginger and topped with toffee sauce?

    Sawadee from Bangkok,
    Kris

    Reply
  13. jfochek

     /  April 28, 2010

    Oooo, now this recipe seems a bit more my speed. Great job on the challenge! I may have to give your version a try…

    Reply
  14. It does sound irresistible! And yes, everything is better with butter! Great job on the challenge.

    Reply
  15. Sheeba,

    I liked your pudding. It is really good.

    Reply
  16. I totally disagree with you! I think it looks delicious and very decadent. Nice work.

    Reply
  17. Butter does make everything taste better. Your pudding sounds scrumptious!

    Reply
  18. It looks great. It’s good that you participate in this event. I know it’s very challenging task. Keep it up gal!

    Re your Q in my Pound cake recipe: Yes, you can use AP flour too. :)

    Reply
  19. I would have used butter too since substitution is allowed :) I like the addition of the candied ginger.

    Reply
  20. Yummm. It looks so good! If only it were fall I would’ve done something very much like this.

    Reply
  21. This is so yummy….doesn’t matter how it looks most important it is tasty, am I right?

    Reply
  22. Zita

     /  April 27, 2010

    You had me by your title :)

    Reply
  23. I’m glad you had a go at this…the results look great.

    P.S dried vegetarian suet is not at all ewww (palm and sunflower oil) ….if you ever get hold of some be brave and have a go, it gives a different slightly firmer texture to butter!

    Reply
  24. The pudding looks so tempting….new kind of combination for me….

    Reply
  25. Just gorgeous … sticky toffee pudding is the best!

    Reply
  26. Sticky Toffee Pudding!! Yummy!!

    Reply
  27. elra

     /  April 27, 2010

    Your pudding sounds absolutely delish! Well done for this month challenge.

    Reply
  28. sasa

     /  April 27, 2010

    Candied ginger – special, I have a thing for putting candied ginger in nearly all my cakes, hehe – I have 2 ginger recipes on my blog already with a third to come.

    Reply
  29. oh yes that is shameless – shamelessly good i’d say! brilliant take on the DB challenge this month!

    Reply
  30. Yes, me too about the suet. Your pudding are lovely. Sticky toffee is THE pudding!

    Reply
  31. Your pudding looks delicious! Sooo much nicer than my attempt! I think I will have to revisit the steaming method. Ginger and dates – how can you go wrong?

    Reply
  32. love your write up S. great sense of humuor. I love steamed puddings and the only 2 types I know are made using the steamer. this one surely looks lovely and I would love to have some with some creamy sauce.

    Reply
  33. I love the ginger in te pudding, and with toffee who will be able to resist. Yumm.

    Reply
  34. Am sure the pudding tasted fantastic Sheeba!! Like ur sense of humor:-)) Would love to see ur recipes more often like this!!

    Reply
  35. Great minds think alike, eh? :) The proof if this pudding is definitely in the eating! We loved it too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

