Spicy Dry Prawn Masala

A few years back we were dinning at a family friends place and while serving us the prawn curry, this person started to to describe a prawn curry he had eaten sometime earlier. He said they(the prawns) sat in the gravy like big curled millipedes!

What a horrid way to describe food!!

I was so repulsed by the image that I stayed off prawns for many years since.
Its only NOW with my recent weight gain and resultant appetite, where i’ll eat ANYTHING, that Ive started to eat them again!

I’m going to share with you a typical Kerala Dry Prawn preparation that my mom makes( hoping my little anecdote has none of you cringing at the sight of prawns!)

Ingredients

Small Onions 12
Red chillies 5
Pepper 1/2 tsp
Ginger
Garlic 6 cloves
Curry leaves 10
Turmeric powder 1/4 tsp
Grind the above with a little water.

Prawns 500 gms

Wash and clean the prawns and add some water,the ground spices and salt and cook in a deep bottomed vessel for 10 min or until cooked. Once slightly dry add some coconut oil( 2 tbsp) and curry leaves and let fry for a few more minutes.
There you have it …an easy peasy prawn dish..mallu ishtyle.

Leave a comment

34 Comments

  1. Wahid Ahmed

     /  July 1, 2012

    Superb recipe. Thanks. Suggest delete the anecdote.
    W Ahmed, New Zealand.

    Reply
  2. Anonymous

     /  December 6, 2010

    This recipe sounds awesome!

    But I don’t think you needed to share the big curled millipedes story with every one else. It surely is a big turn off!

    Reply
  3. OK little lady, between centipede prawns and sponges used in the toilet, you are kind of going the OPPOSITE way of attracting foodies? No…?

    Reply
  4. Beautiful clicks s….love prawns and this is def a worth trying one in that…

    Reply
  5. OMG! Awesome prawn masala!Really tempting!!!

    Reply
  6. Oh my goodness, how vile of him! The recipe is superb. I can’t wait to try it…

    Reply
  7. Dry prawns masala is very tempting to me, love prawns made this way, absolutely yummmmilious dish nothing can surpass them:)

    Reply
  8. yum! i have never cooked with prawns… just ordered them at restaurants. I would love to try this!

    Reply
  9. Lovely blog Sheba! Am sure I’ll visit your space more often.

    I cook more of vegetarian food, looking forward to scanning thru your blog for more of them :)

    Reply
  10. Prawn is the only sea food i actually eat without any fuss…and nope, that comment hasnt put me off:)
    I am def gonna try this out..

    Reply
  11. Very tempting prawn dish…..

    Reply
  12. he he, no, that description did not take me off the prawns.. though I can believe that if you eating it and someone described them like that, then it may :) Nice, easy and delicious recipe.

    Reply
  13. Looks quite luscious!

    Reply
  14. ushnish

     /  February 21, 2010

    Dear S
    How are you?
    I am here after a long time. Somehow I dont get intimation from wordpress when a blog is posted.
    It is such a nice dish, I wd have missed it. I just came here to find out what S has been doing in the kitchen, and here you are with so many dishes and I missed all.
    How do I get an automatic intimation of your postings?
    have a nice sunday
    Ushnish

    Reply
  15. I wish I were a non vegetarian..the clicks looks so tempting…

    Reply
  16. Lovely Prawn curry…

    Reply
  17. I love prawns and there’s a certain recipe of my mother’s that I follow always…I should try yours for a difference next time.

    Reply
  18. prawn in any cooked form is ok to me .. spicy and hot .. looks delicious sheba ..

    Reply
  19. Cham

     /  February 19, 2010

    hahaa , My husb commented the same way! Gosh I thought for a moment do I eat all creepy food on earth? But now I close my ears when I eat seafood, i cook rarely and eat when he is not at home….
    That is delicious one!

    Reply
  20. What a lovely dish! Looks very tasty and I like all the spices you used for this dish. Lovely.
    Cheers,

    Reply
  21. he he your anecdotes! I will also pretend I never read it.
    the dish looks lovely. I also make a similar dish with lots of pepper powder. lovely recipe.

    Reply
  22. He shouldn’t have said that while people are ready to eat the food!

    Lovely Prawn dish. Great color and I bet it’s yummy to eat as well.

    Reply
  23. That is indeed a gross description, but I will pretend I never read it! I can eat prawns anytime, anywhere! This really is an easy way of making prawns; I tend to only make prawns in one or two set ways (posted one on my blog sometime back) – though I am now quite tempted to try making them your way. I really love the way the prawns are coated with the masala.

    Reply
  24. delicious….now you have got me with that description of prawns…:)

    Reply
  25. gorgeous close up click s! and it would tempt even a vegetarian ;)
    TC

    Reply
  26. Slurppp!!am hungry now..

    Reply
  27. Mmmmm, hot & spicy prawn masala looks absolutely inviting, no matter “curled millipedes!” or whatever…. (that’s a curious way of describing food though, hihihh) let me relish this delight peacefullly!!! delicious one!!!

    Reply
  28. looks very tasty

    Reply
  29. Wow prawn masala! Looks tempting.

    Reply
  30. Quite easy and seems totally delectable !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • February 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

