Fort Aguada and some Desi Food at Fidalgo

One of the touristy things to do when in Goa is to visit the splendid Fort Aguada, located in North Goa.
And although we have lived in Goa for 8 years in total, I’ve been to this fort just twice.
It’s a don’t-value-what-you-have syndrome which I’m sure many of us suffer from.
Take the Jewish Synagogue in Kochi for instance. I’ve lived in Kochi most of my student life and I’ve been there-ONCE!! Now how AWFUL is that!

One of my many resolutions for this year was to explore places around me (as opposed holidaying to distant places).
Here are a few glimpses of the Fort as I saw it a few weeks earlier.

The fort, situated at the mouth of the Mandovi River was built by the Portuguese in 1612 to protect old Goa against the Dutch and Marathas and check access of enemies into the River Mandovi. It is home to several natural springs and that’s how it got its name-Aguada meaning Water in Portuguese.

The beaches of North Goa extend from Fort Aguada, in an almost uninterrupted 30 km sandy stretch ,to the border of Maharashtra.

The fort now houses the central jail and has one of Asia’s oldest lighthouses, a four-storied structure looking over a vast expanse of sea, sand and palm trees.


Whenever we do eat-out here in Goa we always prefer to eat at the beach side shacks instead of the usual restaurants in the city. The only time I do relent is when Hotel Fidalgo is one of the options.

The food is EXCELLENT and the hotel looks real nice post-renovation. It is situated right in the heart of Panjim on 18th june Road and has 6 restaurants to chose from( Bhojan, Legacy of bombay, Mirch masala ,Chilli n Spice amongst others).

The last time we went we decided to eat at Mirch Masala, which serves Indian food.

We started off with a chicken clear soup ( as I was supposed to be on a diet).It was delicious and I could have had buckets of this soup.

For starters we had the Chicken Pahadi Kebab(Rs 220) and the

Delhi chaat(Rs 95).
The Kebab was mouthwatering and its something Im looking forwad to ordering next time too.

The main course was just some Butter Naan, a mughlai chicken(240) and a paneer dish(130) and a chicken dum biriyani(Rs 270).

Everything was yummy and I hope to try the other restaurants in there too…

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. I can relate to your obsession to Fidalgo. I stumbled upon the place accidentally in a Goa visit a year ago. After that, all food eaten was eaten in Fidalgo during my stay in Panaji. Prices were a surprise too. Especially loved the restaurant that serves thalis, forgot its name.

    Reply
  2. You were in Panaji and I didn’t know. :(
    Next time try the Rajasthani restaurant at Fidalgo. Its pretty good.

    Reply
  3. When I go to destinations, it’s all about food. The tourist attractions are just an excuse to eat. So I know how you feel; I’ve lived in New York for 4 years and have never been to the Empire State building.

    Reply
  4. Goa is just such a fun place, rakes up a lot of good memories!

    Reply
  5. bergamot

     /  January 25, 2010

    Goa is one place I love. Never seem to tire of it. We just love to roam around the countryside….hardly ever visit the beaches!! Fort Aguada is a place I love. The views from the fort are amazing. Thanks to your post, we now know of places to eat while in Goa. We survived on Subway & Dominoes since we are fussy eaters and did not know of any good places to eat.

    Reply
  6. Ive been to Goa quite a few times, but havent visited this fort. I should put it on my list of things to see for my next India trip.
    It happens all the time. When relatives and friends visit, I go around showing them all the interesting places in San Francisco, but if I was on my own, I wouldve taken a loooong time :P

    Reply
  7. don’t value what you have syndrome !!! thats so true and am trying to be away with it. You know what back home i used to love chocolates so much that regular we didn’t appreciate the roti/subzi, and now I am surrounded by chocolates, and its hardly I eat, now I crave the roti subzi !!

    Thanks for sharing the wonderful pictures !

    Reply
  8. Sheeba,

    Nice Click, with beautiful dishes,

    I have an award for please come and get from my blog

    thanks

    swathi

    Reply
  9. Thanks for sharing this…..lovely pics and the food looks so yummy!!!! And I definitely want to visit Goa and this fort the next time I’m in India :-)

    Reply
  10. thanks for the report interesting on the fortress !! and very srcumptious dishes !!Pierre

    Reply
  11. Goa looks like an amazing destination! The food is enticing.

    Reply
  12. Lovely spread @ Mirch Masala…looks like you guys had fun! I shd visit Goa soon! I went there only for a day and cldn’t see much!…

    Reply
  13. Thanks for sharing these beautiful clicks, enjoyed visiting this fort when we went last time to India..tempting dishes…

    Reply
  14. What a beautiful dishes!!!
    See you soon!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

