Avatar

Here’s the thing; I LOVE going out to the movies; but with a 2 year old its been rather difficult lately.
It was after much hesitation that we finally decided to watch Avatar. And its been the highlight of my weekA fabulous visual treat.

Have you watched it…not yet? Well you absolutely must.

James Cameron spent a good amount of the last 15 years trying to make a film that would elevate him from the “king of the world” level….presumptuous as it sounds. But with Avatar , I think he does just that.

The story follows paraplegic Marine Jake Sully (Sam Worthington) to planet Pandora , where his consciousness controls an avatar, a clone of Pandora’s local humanoid Na’vi people.

Apparently the local Na’vi people do not take too kindly to human visitors , which is pretty unfortunate because their “home-tree” is sitting right on top of a rare mineral “unobtainium” which the humans need to resolve a staggering energy crisis back home(ya guys, its 2145 but we are still at it!!). It helps that this mineral sells for 20 million a kilo !!!
So the scientists use genetically engineered Na’vi look-alikes that they can mind-control while the human body is in a kind of deeply-claustrophobic space craft.

Sully( in his blue pointy-eared ,cat-eyed avatar body) falls in love with Neytiri (Zoe Saldana), the Na’vi warrior princess with whom he explores the wondrous Pandora.
And its from here that the movie explodes into life. It proves wrong the main antagonist Col. Quaritch’s words that “if there is a hell, you might want to go there for a little R&R after Pandora”.On the contrary Pandora is a dream come true…..

The visual effects are eye-popping optical candy
The landscape of the forests, cliffs, waterfalls , floating mountains.. The animals on Pandora are incredible too, weird and fascinating hybrids of dinosaurs and devilish imagination. Cameron just pushes the boundaries of technology and we are drawn into this mind-boggling alternate reality!!!

The CGI fantasy world will take your breath away….literally for some. I read here that some people were so enamored by the make believe world that they were feeling depressed AND SUICIDAL!!!

“After I watched Avatar at the first time, I truly felt depressed as I “wake” up in this world again” said someone of the site….
Anyway, in the end Jake is torn between his military orders to infiltrate the Na’vi and his understanding and love for the blue”tree-hugging” people. Yes, it’s nature versus machine again, and well you know what happens next….

While the plot-line was really “formulaic” and well, even cheesy at times….but there are some metaphors to look out for.
You cannot miss the film’s obvious reference to white guilt- America’s wrongful invasion of Iraq and Afghanistan, or the wrongful atrocities committed against Native Americans and during the slave trade years. The pro-environmental message is also loud and clear.


The acting was spectacular especially Zoë Saldana .Terrific.


All in all a great movie, especially if you love(d) Star Trek.

The original images are here

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. I haven’t seen this movie yet but some of my friends have and they gave it rave reviews!! Maybe after my anatomy test on monday.

    I’m so glad you went out and saw it! Movies are fun. Especially as a once-in-a-while treat.

    Reply
  2. Hmm.. Except for the visual treat, I found the story line quite lame. To me, it felt more like an Arcade Game , a long one at that. If they had included a few songs , the story would be just like any other Indian movie. But, the use of technology was brilliant , especially some scenes which showed awesome depth in 3D.
    I think Star Trek was a league apart, a true Sci-fi. I loved watching Star Trek. This felt more like a Fantasy though many may not agree with me. :-)
    My review

    http://suroba.wordpress.com/2009/12/22/avatar3d/

    Btw, thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Reply
  3. What a coincidence, I’m watching it tonight and am so glad to have read this post – I didn’t know anything about the plot earlier, only knew about the excitement.

    Reply
  4. You have a very pretty blog here. And your paintings and baking seems great! Loved reading bits about your kids. How soon they grow! Don’t even know when mine turned 3… soon, he will have his own social circle and might not even want to cling on to Mamma anymore :-(

    Keep visiting!

    Love,
    Smita

    Reply
  5. brilliant graphics! the story is more in tune with our own Indian movies.. boy meets girl.. there is a villian.. the girl already has a guy… father gets killed… boy helps the girl’s side :)

    Reply
    • Indu i know what ure saying..I thought the same too:)
      Thanks Sushma
      Thank you Smitha…Its already happening to me….
      @sra Let me know what u thought of it..
      thanks so much Rachana , raje, raji, Katherine, PJ, pari,Matteo..hope to see you back here soon!

      Reply
  6. Loved the movie – good entertainment (though it wont win any acting awards I think!) Zoe Saldana did do a good job – but the storyline was non existent for her to do more….

    The music also disappointed – I can still remember the sountrack of Close Encounters, ET, Star Trek ….

    Reply
  7. Yes, I am planning to watch this show~~not to be missed, right?

    Reply
  8. Hey,

    Have not watched this movie to talk about it..as I am not much into, this sort of films….. But heard a lot… & from what I’ve heard, I guess it must be unique….. U have an awesome collection of preps… I loved the house u made..the edible one… of course!!!! Loved it all… Gr8 going!!!!

    Hope to c u around more often….

    Ash….
    (http://asha-oceaichope.blogspot.com/)

    Reply
  9. I loved the graphics….beautiful. But the movie left me feeling hugely disappointed on many levels, not the least of which was the flat characters and cheesy story line. The underlying message was far too huge for this type of a movie to take on and still balance the ‘lust for effects’ that the majority of the attendees were there for. I mean…it was good…but not THAT good! It will be a forgotten movie for me….as a Star Trek fan I would say it does NOT even come close. Star Trek – original – was about plausible futuristic issues….this minorly touched upon an age old issue of Big Corporation (or Country) with Big Money takes over little country with little defense…all in the name of the almighty dollar. So what is new?! Not much in the way of science and new ideas to interweave with the plot. Star Trek was sooooo much more! Okay…more than I wanted to say…just my opinion….grin!

    Reply
  10. A marvellous movie from James Cameron! I loved the contribution from Zoe Saldana. She has played her role amazingly.

    Reply
  11. We saw Avatar this weekend and its actually a must-watch for everyone, who havent watched it by now. The Visual effect is stunningly beautiful:)

    Reply
  12. I love that film, it’s the best film I’ve ever seen!!!

    Reply
  13. I too loved the CG part of it..saw it in 3D..Have shared an award with you dear..please accept.

    Reply
    • Thanks Deepa. I will be thrilled to accept it.
      matteo, Rachana i agree..the visuals were outstanding….
      Sonia I know…zoe was spectacular..although i realized it was her only after i watched the movie:)
      Trish….i agree..and disagree with you. I guess it boils down to ‘art with a purpose’ debate doesn’t it…The visuals were staggeringly good…and yes the plot was cheesy and so ‘filmy’ but then the movie was mainly about the animation and effects….it was a good watch….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • January 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

