Can Diamonds Make you Fat??

YES!! When they look like this…

Diamond Cuts- Diwali Sweet

I just love these ‘Diamond Cuts’ as they are called back in my hometown Kerala. Although my mom never made them, I’ve had these goodies at homes of various friends and relatives and I’m always filled with longing when I think of these ‘precious sweets’. I used the recipe that I found on a college-mates blog but made it using whole wheat flour instead. They were ALMOST as good as the real thing. ALMOST. Nevertheless, my boy’s finished the whole lot almost immediately. I guess it was a case of Diamonds being a boy’s best friend.

Ingredients for Diamond Cuts:

* 2 cups whole wheat flour
* 2 1/2 tbsp beaten egg
* A generous pinch of salt
* Enough Water to knead into a pliable dough
* Seeds from 2 cardamoms, crushed
* Oil for deep frying

Directions:

Mix the flour, egg and salt; add water in very little by little and knead well until you get soft dough .Add in the crushed cardamom. Once the dough is ready, cover it with a damp cloth for 15 minutes.
Roll out the dough and cut into a diamond shape.
Diamond Cuts
Fry in hot oil until it puffs and and turns a goldenish colour.
Dust liberally with icing sugar or use sugar syrup as mentioned in the original recipe..actually i was rather pressed for time so took the easier way out…

Diamond Cuts
These Diamonds go to the Sweet Series” event going on at Mom’s Recipies.

  • October 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers