When I Took the Plunge and some Eggless Chocolate Cake

“Have you ever noticed that anybody driving slower than you is an idiot, and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?”
— George Carlin
Driving me crazy

While technically I do know how to drive, I’ve never really ventured to take the car outside of our colony without my M. I’ve always maintained that the world is a happier and safer place without me driving. So I happily drop/pick up my son from his million classes , meet friends who live nearby, pick up an occasional DVD from the store here…But drive OUTSIDE the gate..That i would NEVER NEVER NEVER do.

Or so I thought.

When a friend had some important work asked me to go along I happily agreed. I assumed i just had to accompany her. Its only once she came home that I realized I was supposed to drive her to Vasco- outside the forbidden gates. Well I was forced to take the plunge. .

Driving a manual car requires a long attention span, even more patience and sturdy feet. Its unnerving having to do so many things at once- change the gear, look into so many mirrors(and not to check my make-up), prevent son from jumping out….it was crazy.and the roads. Although Goa has by far the bestest-est-est roads and traffic in the entire country but that day it seemed the Gods were scheming against me- there were cows, small children, people holding protest marches, and to add to it all, my son was creating a racket; screaming, throwing stuff- it was a nightmare. My hands immediately broke out in cold sweat for fear of running over an innocent, roaming seven-year-old. But thankfully I left everyone in Vasco and everyone in my car, safe and sound.….and I’m happier for it. I’ve been to Vasco many times since and although I’m nowhere the close to being what anyone would call a good driver- it’s a start.

In the same vein of trying out something new I decided to try out this eggless cake. Never been into anything eggless, and definitely not cakes. But this one turned out great. Was happy with the results so try it out all you egg-filled cake eaters….“Never be afraid to try something new. Remember, amateurs built the ark. Professionals built the Titanic.”

Eggless Chocolate Cake
Eggless Super Quick Chocolate Cake

1 ½ cups flour
4 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup plus 2 tbsp powdered sugar
6 tbsp oil
1 cup milk
1 tsp white vinegar
1 tsp vanilla essence

ICING

I’ve never had icing so quick ….
2 tbsp melted butter
6 tbsp cocoa
1 cup sifted icing sugar
½ tsp vanilla essence
3 tbsp hot hot hot water

Sieve the flour with the cocoa and baking soda.
Put the flour in a bowl. Add in the sugar, oil, milk, vinegar and the essence. Mix well. That’s it, you are ready to go.
Just grease a baking tin (8”) and dust it well.
Pour the prepared batter and bake for 40 minutes or until done.

For the Icing- Mix the melted butter, the vanilla and the cocoa. Sift the icing sugar and add it in. Mix and add the hot water little by little till you get the desired spreading consistency. Spread on cake and allow to set (which I didn’t do..as you can see from the pictures.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Sheba – i justed posted your icing recipe on my blog *shamefaced* there truly isn’t an easier recipe – I’m hooked!! Thx!

    Reply
  2. Hehe..join the club of I-know-driving-but-I-don’t-drive!!I have been a lifetime member:)

    Love eggless cakes,this one looks so moist:)

    Reply
  3. P.S. I tried the icing yesterday – fantastic and so quick and simple – will make its way onto my blog…be warned ;-)!

    Reply
  4. A

     /  October 3, 2009

    Haha.. funny write-up, Shebs.. I could visualize it ..haha.. I loved your paintings.. can we place an order;) ?

    Reply
  5. Gobsmacked – that cake looks luscious (sp?). I’ve kept away from eggless baking ever since I made a dud the last time I tried. You have piqued my curiosity….
    BTW – that icing recipe I have bookmarked for sure – that looks amazingly quick, and I’ve been on the prowl for sth chocolately and eggless…..and fast!

    Reply
  6. The cake looks delicious.Eggless even better. I have one question what is the purpose of adding vinegar. If you could let me know I would surely appreciate it.

    Reply
  7. Lovely chocolate cake, it is perfect for my son who loves chocolate but is allergic to eggs!

    Reply
  8. Nice write up ! and wonderful click :)

    Reply
  9. aa

     /  October 3, 2009

    wow.your cake looks so mouthwatering.cant resist the temptation to taste that rich chocolate..love it when its served hot and when its still dripping:) great work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • October 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

