Idli Overdrive

My dad and I are suckers for spicy food..and I mean HOT!!!We eat raw green chillies with our lunch and dinner. My husband on the other hand grew up as a proper Defense kid. Bland English food, using a fork to eat dosas(eeoww!!)- you get the picture.

A few days after we were married we visited an uncle whose love for spicy food is legendary in my village. We still laugh at how my husband actually had pails of water coming out of his eyes and nose after eating the SUPER spicy Mutton curry. My uncle, still not realizing why the husband was acting weird continued to top up his plate. What a riot it was!!!

This ulli chamandi , as its called down in South India is a simple and delicious but deadly-spicy accompaniment. Please adjust the red chillies as per your tastes. Don’t blame me later!!
ulli chamandi

Small onions (a Kerala specialty), I reckon you can use the large ones as well 10
Red chillies- 4
Salt
Mustard seeds 1 tsp
Curry leaves few
Small Onions

Grind the small onions, red chillies and salt together into a fine paste. In a saucepan add some oil. Once the oil is hot throw in the mustard seeds. When the mustard seeds crackle add the curry leaves and the ground chilli mixture. Fry for about 3 minutes. This is to remove the raw oniony taste. Serve with idli/Dosa. This recipe goes to the Think Spice Event Originally started by Sunitha of Sunitha’s World.The reigns of this months event are with Kitchen Chronicle

The other Idli dish I have lined up for you is one that I tried from Madhurams Eggless Cooking site. It has some awesome eggless goodies. You must check it out.
I started out trying the Cocktail Idlis which I thought were so exotic to look at. But somehow mine didn’t turn out too good. What a bummer!! Cocktail IdlisWhat happened was that I added mint leaves to the coriander to make the green chutney and they turned out an ugly shade of green. Then I realized I didn’t have red chillies for the red chutney and decided to use red chilli powder and a pinch of food colour.
Now, one thing about me is that I HATE using these artificial, synthetic things and as soon as I put the Idlis to cook I felt miserable. I kept imagining what horrible things might have been added to these colours. SO I took the idlis out in-between and they whole thing was all the wrong texture…Sigh!

Lesson learnt:-Follow instructions…they are there to be followed. Atleast they are tried and tested. I will definitely try them again and follow the recipe next time.

Next I decided to try the Roasted Stuffed Idlis. These were a hit with my kids. Even my 2 year old gobbled them up. And they are so easy to prepare. I did have some leftover vegetable curry so that’s what I used.
Stuffed and Roasted idlis
Ingredients
Idli batter as needed
Potato curry also as needed
Oil 1 tablespoon
Idli powder as per taste
Salt as per taste
Procedure

Pour idly batter for half measure in the idly plates.
Put a tablespoon of the potato curry on it and cover it with some more batter.
Steam the Idlis for 10 minutes or until done.
Heat a little oil in a frying pan and fry the idlis in it and drizzle some idli powder or curry over it.That’s it-a quick snack ready to be eaten.

Tried and Tested , this is a wonderful event being hosted this spetember by Poornima’s Tasty Treats.Zlamushka, the original brain behind this event spotlights a blog each month. This months star is Madhuram’s Eggless Cooking.
t_t_september_egless_cooking

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I thought I left a line here. Love chillies, love anything spicy. Even though I make something like this sweet, have never made a spicy one. Will give this a try. :-)

    Reply
  2. U eat raw chillies…. Must say if i eat a chilly vch i find in my dish….ul have to fll glasses….. :P we r brought up vth a medium spice food….but i love eating food with ma hands may be it the pizza too eating vth our lovely god given hands gives the best taste…( i do eat vth spoons nd fork too but depends wht food m i having :P)….the UC dish luks yum :)

    Reply
  3. Yummy dishes! colourful idlis looks yum!

    Reply
  4. Your food looks so yummy. I cant believe you eat raw chillis-wow! Mild is usually enough for me lol :)

    Rose

    Reply
  5. Sujata

     /  September 13, 2009

    Wow…it looks yumm….

    Very nice well writen post!

    Reply
  6. I am so excited – I am going to learn so much from your blog!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • September 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

