Pasta n Sausage

Pasta and Sausages

Pasta and Sausages


Pasta makes for a favorite family meal for all of us, any day of the week. All of us love the delicious blend of cheeses, herbs and tomatoes wrapped in fun-to-eat pasta. Gave my cook the day off yesterday and decided to make dinner myself. Although I really enjoy baking, cooking on a day-to-day basis is definitely not on the top of my list of fav things to do. I do however enjoy cooking and feeding my family on weekends.

I come from a family of great cooks. My mother is sort of legendry for her lavish dinners and my sister has been cooking since she was a baby (well, It certainly seems that way!) . My dad too is a cook par excellence; we used to wait for the dinners he used to prepare for us,concorting recipes that tasted and looked so yumm.. His family too is known for their cooking (and eating) abilities.

It therefore was a matter of great bewilderment to everyone that I refused to even enter the kitchen when I was younger. Even being married to someone who enjoys eating did not motivate me enough to try my hand at cooking. But the last couple of years have been different. My husband introduced me to baking and my mother in law gifted me a lovely cooking range (all in the hope that I would finally take the plunge). Well, what do I say, it worked. Now baking is sort of an obsession with me, something I truly enjoy.
I was always the one who can’t cook

Anyway, coming back to the point, dinner was courtesy me yesterday and I chose to make sausages and pasta, and a coconut chocolate pudding for dessert.
I used barilla’s Tortellini pasta which my sister so lovingly sent me. It was absolutely lip smacking and along with the sausages it made the meal perfect.

INGREDIENTS

1 Tbsp Olive oil
200 grams sausage (diced)
¼ tsp crushed and dried red pepper flakes
½ cup onions, chopped finely
11/2 cloves garlic, minced
6 tomatoes( chopped or if you wish puree coarsely)
¾ cup whipping cream
Salt to taste
200 grams pasta
Grated cheese

METHOD

Heat oil in a deep heavy bottomed pan.

Add the diced sausages and cook until no longer pink. Stir continuously or they will stick to the bottom. This should take about 5-6 minutes.

Next, add the garlic and onions and cook until the onions are tender.

Now add the tomatoes, cream and salt.

Simmer until the mixture thickens, around 4 minutes or so.

Meanwhile, in a large pot of boiling water cook the pasta. This should take 12 minutes or so depending on the variety of the pasta. Check the instructions on the pack. Drain.

Add the pasta to the tomato-sausage mixture and let it thicken. Don’t forget to stir occasionally.

Serve with butter or extra virgin olive oil and grated cheese.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. ayma grup

     /  July 14, 2009

    Thanks for sharing the story of how you came to begin cooking. It can be intimidating, especially if you grow up surrounded by great cooks. In contrast, when I’ve asked a lot of professional cooks if their mums were good cooks, the answer is often no – an incentive for them to begin at a young age. So welcome to the fold. Looking forward to reading more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • July 2009
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 52 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers

